Blog Tour Author Interview for the Campus Crush Series by Ashelyn Drake

Posted on November 18, 2013

4


So before we get started, Ashelyn Drake is going to share a little bit about herself, enjoy the interview everyone! 🙂

I’m a New Adult and Young Adult contemporary romance author. While it’s rare for me not to have either a book in hand or my fingers flying across a laptop, I also enjoy spending time with my family. I believe you are never too old to enjoy a good swing set and there’s never a bad time for some dark chocolate.

Do you write under any other names? 

Yes, I do. This was just announced on November 6, but Ashelyn Drake is actually a pen name. My real name is Kelly Hashway, and under that name, I write YA and MG paranormal/fantasy, and I also write picture books.

What are you currently working on?

I’m working on two YA contemporary romances in different stages of revision as well as drafting a New Adult contemporary romance.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

As Ashelyn Drake I’ve published:

Release date: 2013

Genre: New Adult, Romance

Tour: Irresistible Reads Book Tours

Books Descriptions:

Romancing The R.A.

Noelle Buckman is looking forward to making a fresh start in college, one that doesn’t involve immature high school boys. The second she steps on campus for freshman orientation, she can sense the possibilities. Especially when she spots Andy, a resident advisor who’s not just hot but also thoughtful enough to open doors for a girl.

And Andy has his eye on Noelle. Even when her nerves take control and she thinks she comes off as a hillbilly with no direction, Andy can see what she’s really like and he’s more than a little interested.

But orientation is less than two full days and there’s an entire summer between Noelle and Andy. Will her attempt to romance the R.A. be as short-lived as college orientation?

Behind Closed Doors:

Julia Monroe is through wishing she had an older guy like her best friend Noelle does. It’s time for her to act on her desires. So when she sees sexy, twenty-three-year-old Darren McEntire eating dinner alone at the pub, she decides to make her move. The attraction between them is undeniable, and even through Julia isn’t looking for a one-night stand, she winds up back at Darren’s place the same night she meets him. Only being with him makes her realize what she’s been missing dating other guys. All she wants is Darren.

But Julia allows Darren to think she’s his age and a grad student at the nearby college. She knows she has to confess the truth, but she’s afraid to shatter what they have. Not knowing what to do, she starts the semester only to discover that her new teaching assistant is none other than Darren. With the lies out in the open and campus policy against them, Julia and Darren know the relationship should be over before it even begins. But the chemistry between them is too strong to deny.
Can they find a way to be together or are they doomed to only see each other behind closed doors?

Rushing Into Love:

As a college junior, Mindy Stanton has no interest in dating a freshman.

That is until Ben Whitmore shows up and serenades his way into her heart at the dorm social she’s running. And after hearing him sing, even Mindy can’t deny that he has a deep, sexy voice that makes her melt.

Even though Mindy makes it clear that she doesn’t date younger guys, Ben pursues her anyway. After all, he doesn’t seem like the typical college freshman, who is only interested in hooking up, partying until he can’t remember his name, or joining a frat. He’s a gentleman, a romantic, and definitely knows all the right things to say to sweep a girl off her feet.

So Mindy drops her guard. She allows herself to fall for him. Before she knows it, Ben is all she can think about. To her, he’s perfect.

But it doesn’t take Mindy long to discover that even the most perfect guys…
Have secrets

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17880164-romancing-the-r-a

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18169882-behind-closed-doors

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18365022-rushing-into-love

As Kelly Hashway I’ve published:
Touch of Death (YA paranormal/horror)
Stalked by Death (YA paranormal/horror)
Melinda’s Museum Magic (PB)
May the Best Dog Win (PB)

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

I hate coming up with titles because most of the time, I’m finished revising and I still don’t have one in mind. I usually like to make my title appear somewhere in the story, too, so it can be tricky.

How much of the book is realistic/true?

The Campus Crush series is very realistic, though none of the people are based on anyone I’ve met. I can say that the serenading scene in Rushing Into Love was inspired by a freshman guy who serenaded me in college though. He even sang the same song, but he was nothing like my male lead, Ben, in the book.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I like to pull from my own experiences, but I always change them. I take inspiration from my life and then run with it to turn it into fiction.

What book are you reading now?

I discovered Simone Elkeles this year and I love her writing, so I’m working my way through her books.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Book bloggers. You guys are amazing, and authors wouldn’t have careers without you. I’m so thankful for all the great bloggers I’ve met and for all their support.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

Definitely a career. I couldn’t imagine doing anything else for a living.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I think every book turns out the way it’s meant to. Yes, we keep improving as we keep writing, but that’s normal. I’d never go back and change any of my books because of that.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I can’t remember ever not being interested in writing. I’ve been creating stories since elementary school.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s a brief teaser from my current WIP:

The problem with Facebook, and every other social media site, is that it keeps people in touch. Even when they shouldn’t be. Even when they were supposed to have moved on.
I shouldn’t be staring at Jared’s profile picture of him and his new girlfriend. But I am. His arm is around her waist, pulling her snugly against his side. Her long blonde hair hangs loosely over her shoulders and onto his arm. She looks happy. Worse—he looks ridiculously happy.
I never thought that would happen. I never thought Jared and I would end. It wasn’t supposed to be this way. Not after we’d dated for three years and were voted best couple in high school. I’m supposed to be the one in his profile picture—in his bed. But instead it’s her. Faith Muldoon. What kind of last name is Muldoon anyway? Jared Grande and Faith Muldoon. Their names don’t mesh. Not like Jared Grande and Mia Thompson do. Faith Grande. Nope. Not working. Mia Grande. Much better. Only it will never happen now.

Who designed the covers of you books?

The Campus Crush covers were designed by True Poison, and I couldn’t love them more.

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works?

I get very emotional when I write because I tap into my own experiences and feelings in order to convey what my characters are going through. It’s not unusual to find me crying at my laptop.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Read! The best research is reading great books.

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?

I kind of fell in love with Ben from Rushing Into Love, and I think that’s why he ended up being the fan favorite of the male leads in the Campus Crush series. Who doesn’t love a guy who goes out of his way to learn all about you just to win your heart? And he serenades Mindy. That’s sexy on so many levels.

Additional Information you’d like to share:

Thank you so much for having me today, Kristen. And for everyone stopping by, don’t forget that the prequel to the Campus Crush series, Nothing To Tell, is FREE! It’s my way of saying thank you to all the supportive fans.

Stalker Links:

Twitter | Facebook | Website | Goodreads

Tour Schedule: http://bit.ly/1ieJ4Mm

Want to be interviewed by me and featured on my blog?! Click here to find out how!