Author Interview with Ryan Attard

Posted on November 15, 2013

0


 

Tell us a little bit about yourself, Ryan:

They call me Ryan Attard and I hail from a the faraway island of Malta in an ocean far, far away. I spy on the voices in my head and write down their crazy antics. Also, people shouldn’t take me seriously because they run the risk of turning insane like me, and there’s only so much space in the crazy abyss I inhabit. Bookings are a bitch at this time of year.

Do you write under any other names? 

No. I use my own name, because I look at internet trolls and lawsuits in the eye and make them back down.

Also I couldn’t think of a good name.

What are you currently working on?

I’m trying to find a way to extract the souls of kittens and – oh wait wrong interview.

I am working on Book 2 of the Legacy Series. Book 1, Firstborn will hit your shelves and kindles on December 13th.
I’m also working on a separate sci-fi series and a serialized fiction series, among other things.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

So far you can read Big Wolf on Campus at the 2013: A Stellar Collection and Dread Night (my Halloween Special). Both stories are part of the Legacy Series and both are published under AEC Stellar Publishing Inc.

Firstborn will hit the shelves December 13th.

What inspired you to write your first book?

The Dresden Files, Devil May Cry, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, and a whole load of Celldweller music.

Humor, crude one-liners, sarcasm, things blowing up, action-adventure and epic sword fights – all found in the novels.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?

So far I used both 1st and 3rd person (Legacy is 1st but all the others are 3rd).

I seem to have developed my own writing style which is honest and to the point, similar to stream of consciousness but peppered with a lot of phallic jokes. I tend to get lyrical with my descriptions and I love making my action scenes in a ‘stuccato’ sequence.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

I stole Firstborn from a Celldweller song which I heard on a Devil May Cry 4 play-through. The dark themes and vibes were perfect for the first novel, going from dark to melodic to upbeat and then back down to trance tempo.

Dread Night is a pun in the story, Big Wolf on Campus is a reference to a 90’s tv show.

I tend to have quadruple meanings in my titles and every title I pick has a specific meaning to the story especially the novels. The word Legacy itself comes up i nearly every story I wrote because it is one of the key plot elements.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?

Not really. I write to entertain. I want my readers to laugh, clutch the book and pump their fists into the air.
I suppose that there is some indirect social criticism but mainly, I write to entertain.

How much of the book is realistic/true?

I write Urban Fantasy and every character is either a wizard, an angel, a demon, a succubus, an elemental, a werewolf, a druid or one of the seven deadly sins. All of which takes place in modern society.
That makes it a little divorced from reality.

Unless you’re on drugs – in which case it’s all real.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No. So far I have yet to wield a magic sword against a half octopus half bull monster.

I do however tend to practice my one-liners or rants on people I know. Which is why every member of the female sex hates me.

What books have most influenced your life most?

The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher. The Skulduggery Pleasant series by Derek Landy. Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss. Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. Chronicles of the Necromancer by Gail Z Martin. Timeriders by Alex Scarrow.

Just to name a few.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?

Jim Butcher. Our styles are similar and he influenced me via the Dresden Files to start writing. I learnt a lot from his blog where he has 60 page series of posts on how to create a story and characters.

So in a way, he already is my mentor. Someone should let him know. Unless he’s not cool with that – then keep it down.

What book are you reading now?

Right now I’m reading the Drik Pitt series by Clive Cussler because some of the novels influenced the Sci-Fi series I’m currently working on.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have a few friends who are artists and together we took the leap – going full time. But I wouldn’t call them entities. Well, maybe one of them.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

Career. You don’t put 12 hour work days into a hobby.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t know. My manager had to literally set a deadline where I had to hand in the book and he forbade me from touching it ever again. If I had my way, I’d always be tweaking and never actually finishing it.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I began writing because I joined a group of people with similar interests. Peer Pressure sometimes works great.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

http://closkot.blogspot.com/2013/10/cover-reveal-firstborn-by-ryan-attard.html

This is a link to a cover reveal of Firstborn as well as the blurb.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The marketing. I’m used to living in my head and now I have to share my time with this strange thing called real life.
Thank the stars AEC Stellar had a team of great social media people who lighten the load for me. I’d be lost without them.
I probably wouldn’t be doing this interview without them.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Jim Butcher because of our similar writing styles.
Patrick Rothfuss because reading his prose is like listening to music with the notes surrounding your head.

Who designed the covers of you books?

Viola Esrtella (https://www.facebook.com/violaestrella?fref=ts)

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works?

Honestly, I’m so addicted to my work that I don’t find anything too hard. Sure, sometimes I get stuck but all you gotta do is keep trying.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep trying and never give up.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Don’t take me too seriously.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to to life?

I have all of my stories set in the US and I’ve never been there. Specifically the Legacy series is set in Eureka, California.
I kinda cheated my way out by inventing a fictional district and having all the action take place there.
And by using Google Maps.

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?

Erik – his stream of consciousness and rants are very similar to mine. (But I’m not writing myself in the book. Erik is Erik, telling his story.)

Amaymon – he’s the Dark Side persona. He’s the little voice that tells you it’s ok to do bad things. He’s the evil bastard we all know and love.

Additional Information you’d like to share:

I have a site: ryanattard.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RyanAuthor
twitter: @enkousama

Also I may or may not be a figment of your imagination. My books aren’t though and you may purchase them on amazon, smashwords and any other retailer. Look for 2013: A Stellar Collection and Dread Night. Look for Firstborn on December 13th. And check out other AEC Stellar Authors.
Ok I’m done plugging.

Stalker Links:

Want to be interviewed by me and featured on my blog?! Click here to find out how!