Author Interview with Bethany Daniel

Posted on November 15, 2013

0


 

Image of Bethany DanielWill you tell us a little bit about yourself before we get started?

I live in TX with my husband and 2 little boys. I’m a new author, I released my first book, Reconnected in May and my second book, Disconnected, in August. I’m currently working on book 3, Interconnected Hearts

What are you currently working on?

Book 3 in my Connected series, Interconnected Hearts.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

2. Reconnected and Disconnected

What inspired you to write your first book?

I write in first person, it helps me feel more insync with the characters, like its easier to be inside their head that way for me.

The story just wouldn’t leave me alone. It played itself out in my head and I had to get it out.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?

I write in first person, it helps me feel more insync with the characters, like its easier to be inside their head that way for me.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

With Reconnected, it was just the only title that I felt fit the story of Liam and Katy finding their way back to each other. Disconnected is the retelling of Reconnected from Liam’s POV and he talks about how he felt disconnected from everything for a long time so it fit. I went back and forth on book 3’s title because its about Liam and Katy’s best friends, Krista and Scott, so I wanted it to fit with the other titles but also show it was different people.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?

That in the end, love can conquer all.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, the Hollywood life is pretty opposite of mine!

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?

Jennier Armentrout, Shelly Crane or Lila Felix

What book are you reading now?

Starbright by Rachel Higginson

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friend Brandy, she got to read Reconnected before anyone else and has been super supportive through this whole journey.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

Career. If it were just a hobby, then I wouldn’t put so much heart into it.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I might have made Liam have to gravel (sp?) a little more, but overall I’m happy with both books

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My best friend and I wrote fanfiction for some of our favorite shows and that turned into us staying up hours writing story after story that we came up with.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

You can find the prologue of Interconnected Hearts on Wattpad 🙂
http://www.wattpad.com/26605418-interconnected-hearts-prologue-this-starts-after

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Having time to focus completely on the story at times, most of my writing ends up being done at night once my boys are in bed for the night.

Who designed the covers of you books?

Photos by AJC did Reconnected and Cover It! Designs did Disconnected’s and is currently doing Interconnected Hearts’ cover.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up. It’s scary once you decide to make the leap into being an author and there are so many choices at every corner, stay level headed and show everyone why you love your story.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for taking a chance on me, for reading my stories and for taking the time at times to message me or leave a comment on my wall about your love for them.

 

Stalker Links:

Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog 

Want to be interviewed by me and featured on my blog?! Click here to find out how!