Author Interview with Felicity Brandon

Posted on October 30, 2013

1


 

I would like to start off the interview you Felicity telling us a little bit bit about herself, and then we’ll dive into the nitty-gritty! 🙂 

​Who is Felicity Brandon…?

​I have taken to describing Felicity as my ‘inner slut’! She gets to explore the sensual and erotic side of life, which is not always open to me in the real world…

I have been writing stories literally forever. Since I could hold a pen I have been making little story books for people! Writing allows me a creative outlet to express my ideas and voice my opinions. Then a few years ago, I stumbled across Felicity in my inner psyche! She was screaming to be heard, so she started to write as well… except the words she penned were darker, steamier, and more taboo…

Felicity’s first work was published at the end of 2012 by​​​​​​​​​​ Xcite Books.
http://www.xcitebooks.co.uk​

Since then her words have flowed, and she now has many stories in the offing. You can catch some of them from Wildheart (at The Oleander Press). http://www.oleanderpress.com

You’ll find Felicity locked away in her study; somewhere in the UK, capturing and sculpting the deepest, darkest fantasies… Watch this space for more heart pounding, pulse-racing, and toe-curling erotica!

 

Do you write under any other names? 

Not yet!

What are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on a number of different titles.
I have two new, scorching BDSM shorts which are nearly completed, plus two longer tales in mid-flow.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

Short stories:
*Disciplinary Action* (part of an anthology of the same name);
*The Abduction*
*Customer Service*
*Friday’s Lesson*

What inspired you to write your first book?

Ha ha! Good question!
Very long-held, deeply buried fantasies which became increasingly persistent.
At the same time I started to write again for the first time in a few years after having my family; so the two diverse sides of my life were able to converge in such a sexy and productive way!

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?

I usually write in the first person narrative and in the present tense. I have been asked why I choose to do this and the honest answer is, it’s just how the words come to me naturally. I have to work hard to write in the past tense! I have penned a couple of pieces this way, so we’ll see if they make it through the editing process…

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

Titles tend to just ‘come’ to me as I write the stories. Although increasingly they are clear to me right from the beginning of the process.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?

My stories are all charged with erotic tension and sexual chemistry. They are really about letting yourself go and allowing yourself to embrace who you really are. Stop trying to conform to cultural ‘norm’s’ and learn to love you!

How much of the book is realistic/true?

All of my books are fantasies, although for me it’s important that the plots are plausible. If you can imagine them happening to you then it’s all the more erotic!

What books have most influenced your life most?

There are a few books which have really made me stop and consider. For instance, *A Handmaid’s Tale* by Margaret Atwood, *We need to talk about Kevin* by Lionel Shriver, and *Nineteen Eighty-Four* by George Orwell. More broadly I have devoured nearly every title from Stephen King and Anne Rice – their individual styles and story-lines are utterly bewitching.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?

If I was forced to choose just one, then probably Anne Rice. Her narrative is captivating and I am hooked from the first line…

What book are you reading now?

I am currently rereading *The Silver Locke* by Michael Alexander.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

It all depends on how you define ‘hobby’ and ‘career’. First and foremost I am a mother. I don’t have much time for a ‘hobby’ outside of that! I know that I will spend the rest of my life writing and (hopefully) being published; whether it’s to earn a living or just for pleasure!

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would consider the possibility of lengthening it… And decide what Oliver and Jenna do next!

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I think in some way my interest in writing is innate. That is to say – it has always been there for as long as I can remember… That’s not say that I can’t become a better writer. I am striving all the time to improve.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

“As though you read my mind, you steady my head between your hands and eye me intensely. Then your mouth is on mine, hungry and aggressive. Your teeth skim my lips, claiming me and I feel your tongue probing inside of my mouth. The kiss ends as dramatically as it began, leaving me reeling and wanting more.”
“…You raise one eyebrow and regard me with another intense stare.
“Start by stripping please Jenna.”
I hear what you say and yet on some level I can’t quite process it.
“Strip?” I ask, as though I don’t understand your demand.
“Yes, strip. Take off all of your clothes. I want to see you naked. Now please.”
I feel dazed, yet I let my jacket fall to the floor, and start work on my shirt buttons. Your eyes never leave me. I can feel them mining into me whilst I tackle the third button. Why is this so weird? You’re my husband after all. You’ve seen me undress and naked countless times.
Yet this is different. I am not just undressing, I am stripping. It’s not my decision; it’s at your command. You are not just Oliver now; you’re my Husband – some dominant entity now in charge. For some strange reason, I am finding it really hot! The look in your eyes is not just appreciative; it’s carnal. Waves begin to rise in my pool of desire.”
“That’s enough naughty girl,” you say in a mocking tone, “I am going to put you over my knee and spank you for being such a bad wife tonight. It will hurt, but you’re going to enjoy it a lot more than you’ll admit…”

© Felicity Brandon, from *Friday’s Lesson* (2013)

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The major challenge is time – there is never enough of it! 🙂

Do you have any advice for other writers?

I’m not sure I am in any position to offer advice to other writers, but to anyone who has a passion to ‘do’ something I would say don’t give up. Keep trying; keep slogging at it and have faith in yourself (even when you get negative feedback or a bad review). Also trust in your instinct on things – it is usually spot on! And more than anything else, enjoy it! It’s your passion after all…

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

To anyone who has downloaded one of my books, written a review of my work, visited my website, liked my Facebook page and/or followed me on Twitter, I would like to say a HUGE thank you! Your support is quite literally invaluable! 🙂

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?

So far I think that Rachel from *Customer Service* is my favourite. It’s not because she’s a ‘nice’ woman, because actually she really isn’t! But she absolutely came to life in a way that no character had done before that point. I think I could bring Rachel out to play again in the future

Additional Information you’d like to share:

There’s so much more to come from Felicity, so stay tuned and happy reading!

Stalker Links:

Website | Facebook | Goodreads  | Twitter

Want to be interviewed by me and featured on my blog?! Click here to find out how!