Author Interview with Kimberly Knight

Posted on October 28, 2013

0


Image of Kimberly Knight

Befer we get started here is a little background on our featured author:

I just moved from th­e Bay Area­ in Califo­rnia to th­e mountains near a l­ake with m­y loving h­usband and­ spoiled c­at, Precio­us. In my ­spare time­, I enjoy ­watching h­er favorit­e reality ­TV shows, ­playing co­-ed slow p­itch softb­all in a f­ew local l­eagues, ro­oting for ­my SF Gian­ts and San­ Jose Shar­ks and pla­ying compu­ter games ­like World­ of Warcra­ft with Au­drey Harte­ and onlin­e poker. N­ow that I ­am near a ­lake, I pl­an on work­ing on my ­tan and do­ing more o­utdoor stuff like…­watching h­ot guys sk­i. However­, the bulk­ of my tim­e is dedic­ated to writing and ­reading Romance and ­Erotic fiction…and being on ­Facebook and Pintere­st!

 

 

Do you write under any other names? 

No

What are you currently working on?

A standalone called Tattooed Dots. I have yet to determine a release date though.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

Where I Need to Be (B&S #1)

Wanted (B&S #2)

Anything Like Me (B&S #3)

What inspired you to write your first book?

I was first inspired to start writing by my love of all the erotica and romance books out there, especially FSOG and Bared to You. After reading FSOG, I was hooked on erotica and romance novels. As I read all these books, I joked with my friend that we should write our own book. One day over lunch, we started to come up with a story…not Where I Need to Be, a different story. I told her that I would brainstorm and she could write. She said that she couldn’t write and I said “well I can’t either!”. So that was the end of that. Over the next few months as I continued to read, I started to come up with Where I Need to Be in my head and one day I just went for it. Three months later, I had Where I Need to Be in the arms of an editor.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?

First person, but I am thinking I want to write something in third person in the future. Not sure what yet.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

The three in the B&S series are titles of country songs that fit each book. For my new book; Tattooed Dots, it’s a personal situation that I went through and will be revealed in the book.

How much of the book is realistic/true?

In the B&S series, I would say about 15% is real situations/people in my life. For Tattooed Dots, it’s going to be more about 50% even though it’s not an autobiographical novel.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?

Audrey Harte and James Holeva. They both give me a ton of advice and make sure I try not to write stuff that doesn’t make sense.

What book are you reading now?

On Fire by Sylvia Day. It’s the 4th book in her Shadow Stalker series. Some have been really short, but enjoyable. I love her writing.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Real life friends and Facebook friends. People I don’t know, have encouraged me to keep writing and it’s so surreal.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

No as a career, but when I first started, it was just a hobby.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Like I said before, just from reading a lot of books in the erotic and romance genre.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

As of right now, I can’t. On 11/5/13, I am releasing the cover and the synopsis. If you want to check it out, please visit my website at http://www.authorkimberlyknight.com or look me up on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/AuthorKKnight

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Staying off Facebook and focusing on writing, lol.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Sylvia Day. I just love her writing style as I said above. She writes stories that just captivates me and I don’t want to put her books down.

Who designed the covers of you books?

I do 🙂

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works?

While writing my first 2 books, I had a tumor on the nerve below my 1st rib and above my 2nd rib. Being in pain 24/7 was really challenging when I had to type a lot. I used to work as a paralegal/office manager so I was on the computer all the time. My surgery was 22 days before the release of Wanted. While I was writing book 3, I was going through radiation. So long story short, my health.

Also, filler. I hate writing filler. I just want to get the story out, but then the book wouldn’t be that long 😉

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Just keep writing and find a good editor!

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Friend me and follow me on Facebook. I love to hear from everyone! Also, please write reviews. Publishers and other readers look at them and it means a lot.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to to life?

Same as the hardest part of writing. It was hard at times to get my mind in the story to write it when I was trying not to focus on the pain.

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?

So far obviously, Brandon and Spencer from my current series that is out. But, I am loving my new male lead. He is much different than Brandon.

Additional Information you’d like to share:

Never give up on your dreams.

Stalker Links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Blog | Goodreads | Amazon

Want to be interviewed by me and featured on my blog?! Click here to find out how!