Interview with Ky Grabowski

Posted on October 9, 2013

2


I use Grammarly to check for plagiarism because a dyslexic author needs some help more times than not. And tonight I bring to you the amazing Ky Grabowski! She is a wonderfully talented author, blogger, and social media mogle.  I have had the pleasure to get to know her better over the last several months and I have to say she is one of a kind! Please enjoy her awesome interview and be sure to check out all of her various social sites!

Do you write under any other names?

No. I had considered writing under a different name but decided I would prefer to use my real name. I thought it would be easier for people to connect with me if I was as real as I could be. I was nervous at first but I know I have a great amount of people supporting me and they know who I am and that’s the best! What are you currently working on? I’m rewriting Courage my first book and having a wonderful time. The rewrite is so fresh, new and with all the new tips I’ve gathered it’s going more smoothly this time around. The other project I’m working on is my fantasy series, which I’m taking me time with because it’s a huge project.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

None so far! Hopefully this winter I will have Courage published 😀

What inspired you to write your first book?

I was listening to Apologize by OneRepublic and it struck me with an idea. I thought about how often we are sorry for our regrets. Courage was inspired after a bad day and when that song came on I began to write and after some time I wrote the plot and the book. It was a fun experience and I use music all the time when I write, Courage has its own playlist.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?

I have trouble with the romance areas of my books because I’m not a romantic person. I see love differently than a lot of people do and to help me better write those scenes I read a lot of romance books.

My preferred writing style is usually dark and is very involved in the challenges a character faces. I tend to lean towards a lot of twists & really getting as in-depth as possible when I write. I also like to add hidden messages in the plot and characters in the hopes that it can help the reader also learn something while enjoying a book.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

It was first called Heart of Salvation, then There’s Peace in the Phoenix. I finally settled on Courage because someone asked me if there was more books planned in the series after reading the first book. I originally had no plans to write more than one book. I then thought about it and came up with some ideas and took to researching. I realized that in this book that what the characters needed to find was their Courage and thus the title was born.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?

Some messages I can’t reveal because it would spoil some of the story but I can share one. In Courage aside from finding that in yourself – it’s about never giving up. Especially on the one’s you love because family is family, and love is love. Tanix learns in the first chapter not to take love for granted anymore and that’s something I want readers to understand – love is important.

How much of the book is realistic/true?

Tanix suffers through some dark things that are real in my life. I original wrote Courage when I was 16 – 17 and dealing with all those new emotions, struggles and life. I found an escape in writing and creating characters that inspired me sometimes in my own life and showed me how to handle situations. I really connect with characters in books and when I wrote my own I fell in love with writing. Tanix is such a complex and interesting character who handles things so differently then I would or others might. Aside from that the book is very fictional and if anything in the book has actually happen – then… well once you read the book it’s not exactly an enjoyable life.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I never like to use experiences in other’s lives unless it’s the perfect fit or the right choice. The reason being I never want someone to feel used or portrayed wrongly. I know who I am and I know my personal stories better than anyone else so I prefer to use events that have happen to me personally when I write. I find it helps give more depth and connection to the characters. It also allows me to see things in a different light, especially if the character handles things different then I have.

What books have most influenced your life most?

Minutes Before Sunset; Shannon A. Thompson
Why; Shannon’s book reminds me first most about why I want to be a published author. I was reading her book over again in paperback and I just thought “I can’t wait to see my own book like this.” She’s an extremely hard worker author who puts her whole heart into each written word.
Her story as well was so well done; the character development was something I enjoyed so much! I loved the journey the characters went on and how they still had a lot to learn. She’s so talented and makes her characters very relatable and real for readers. I admire that and her.
Honest Illusions; Nora Roberts
Why; This book was the first book I read by Nora Roberts and I simply fell in love with it. She starts it off slowly but still interesting enough for you to want to keep reading. You get to learn who the characters are from their childhood until their in their mid twenties. She shows you their journey in such an honest way and allows you to really fall in love with the characters in this story. It inspired me to takes things slow in my writing and not worry about that fast paced story telling a lot of people do. Sometimes simple & slow is better and this book proved that!
Run For Your Life; James Patterson
Why; This book is written in first person and in a man’s point of view. It was a great read as it had little questions I wanted answers too. The storyline was interesting and creative. I enjoyed that the main character was a father of 12 kids and there seemed to be a small attraction between the nanny and he. It touches on the past a bit about the loss of his wife and he tries hard to be a good father and take an active role. I still remember most of the book and how much I loved it. It was the first book I read by a male author, and reminded me how detailed you can be writing in first person.
No Choice but Seduction; Johanna Lindsey
Why; Even though I read Marriage most Scandalous first, No Choice actually got me interested in Johanna’s work. I like her family aspect, her detail and her ability to carry on a series with a family you wish you were a part of. Each character is their own and makes the story so fresh each time. I enjoy the personalities all her characters hold. This book also has sex in it and when I first wrote my own I found reading other styles from authors was a great way to ease into it.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?

Shannon Thompson

What book are you reading now?

Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
I am enjoying this book a lot and taking my time reading it because I want to have all the books. I like the storyline so far as it’s not too predictable and I like the way Becca writes. I feel like she offers you the chance to kind of attach yourself to the book itself, in her characters. You can kind of allow yourself to sit back and put yourself in their positions. I like that.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

The wonderful people, who support from the blog, face book, etc. Each of them are awesome, especially for taking the time to venture over. The feedback has been so great! I can’t believe it sometimes.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

If I had to choose one, I say hobby. I like to write whenever I have the time even though writing is all I know to do. It’s wonderful when it can turn into a career though, as it takes patience and hard work.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Ha-ha, the entire book is being rewritten right now so I would have to say yes. This time around it’s much better, cleaner and detailed. I also changed the point of view I write in.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was ten, sitting in the backseat of my grandparents car. I took out my paper and pen and began writing a story about my life.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I have trouble writing dialogue and romantic scenes. As a person I’m not very emotionally and often prefer to listen rather than talk. I think that follows me into my writing and it provides a challenge to break out of it when I write characters. I find this takes up most of my time as I have to make sure the character’s speaking style sticks throughout the book.

Who designed the covers of you books?

I’ve designed the cover for Courage but with the changes I think I’ll buy a professional one.

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works?

At the current moment, finding the time to sit down and actually write. With so many personal things coming up, the time to write has been cut. I’m really hoping to finish the rewrite this month though! Or at least reach 50,000 words.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Believe in yourself, no matter what.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Trust your heart, listen to your mind & walk forward.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to to life?

Research so far has been a great challenge. It’s fun to learn all these new things that will follow the characters through their journey. At times it can be overwhelming to keep things accurate while being creative. I think it’s a good writing challenge and experiencing this has helped me become a better writer, it shows in the end how hard work can pay off.

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?

Bennett from Courage is one of my favorites. He loved Tanix very deeply and always was there for her. I admire how he always tried to be whatever Tanix needed. I think he proved to Tanix over and over again that love is possible even though because of his love he dies. Bennett showed Tanix something she long ago though she would never have. It creates an interesting thing for Tanix to deal with throughout the rest of the story.
X from my fantasy series which is currently still be written. The first book is coming along well and the main character is one of my all time favorite characters. There’s so much depth to them, and their story is the reason the book needs to be finished. I want people to learn about this character and learn from them. Their story has so much to teach.

Stalker Sites

Blog / website → http://kygrabowski.wordpress.com/

Like me on; Facebook → https://www.facebook.com/GrabowskiKy

Follow me on; Twitter → https://twitter.com/KyGrabowski

Subscribe to me on; YouTube → https://www.youtube.com/user/KyGrabowski

Fan me on; WattPad → http://wattpad.com/KyGrabowski

Friend me on; GoodReads → http://www.goodreads.com/KyGrabowski

Follow me on; Polyvore → http://kygrabowski.polyvore.com/

Follow me on; We❤It → http://weheartit.com/KyGrabowski?src=follow_me

Connect with me on; Tumblr → http://kygrabowski.tumblr.com/

Want to have your interview on my blog? Fill out the form here!