Interview with E’yen A. Gardner

Posted on October 7, 2013

3


Tonight’s interview is with E’yen A. Gardner! I hope you all enjoy it! 🙂

2013-06-29 12.28.53 (2)

What are you currently working on?

 I am currently writing a book called “30 minutes to live”, It is a self-help work focused on seizing your present and pursuing your dreams courageously regardless of the challenges in front of you.
How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?
 
I have ten books published so far.
  1. Humbly Submitting to Change – The Wildnerness Experience
  2. Break Free
  3. Chosen One
  4. In the Morning
  5. Seventh Day
  6. Extreme Makeover
  7. Poetic License
  8. Husband Rules – A Guy’s Playbook on How to Win in Marriage
  9. Detox 21 – 21 day cleansing of the soul (Ebook)
  10. Love Letters
What inspired you to write your first book?
 
I got my inspiration to write “The Wilderness Experience” out of experiencing a lot of challenging situations. I wanted more out of life. I was tired of hearing about God from other and I wanted to have a genuine relationship with God for myself. No more hearsay. As I started to seek God, my life started to fall apart. In spite of the adversity, I started to experience God like never before. I look at Humbly Submitting to Change as the beginning of my spiritual journey and each spiritual writing after as a continuation of my journey to draw close to God.
 

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

 
I will share a couple with you.
Humbly Submitting to Change – The Wilderness Experience
At first the book was called the Wilderness Experience but as I wrote the book I realized that whatever changes came my way, I needed to surrender to the journey to discover my purpose and my true self. Humbly Submitting to Change is to me means, I will not fight change, I will embrace it.
 
Chosen One
I got it from the Matrix lol. Actually it is about, God chose one to fulfill a special purpose and that one is you.
 
 In the Morning
I was inspired by a bible verse “weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning” I was always inspired by my favorite tv series “24” The show reveals how many things can happen in a short amount of time. I wanted to convey the message that in spite of the adversity we face every hour is important for us to truly appreciate the blessings that come “in the morning.”
 
Extreme Makeover
I was watching Extreme Makeover Home Edition on television and was inspired to write a book where in 7 days you can live a completely transformed life.
 
Husband Rules
I wrote some tips in my phone one day to push myself to become a better husband and I called it Husband Rules and it stuck when I decided to write the book.
 
Love Letters
When I wrote the book it was written as one letter but as I worked on it is was separated into letters. God is Love and He shares his messages of love through the letters I was given.
Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?
 
I would say the central message in my writings is be yourself and love the life you have been given. I want to inspire people use their gifts and don’t allow fear to keep them from their dreams.

What books have most influenced your life most?

Bible of course, Destined to Reign by Joseph Prince, Harry Potter, The Other side of Chaos, the Alchemist to name a few.
 
If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?
 
JK Rowling, she is an amazing writer I would love to be around her. Also Max Lucado and James Patterson
 
What book are you reading now?
 
Inferno by Dan Brown another great writer.
 
Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
 
Wow, my friend Rahil Huguley has supported me from day one, encouraging me to keep writing.
 
Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?
 
It is my career and I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon. I love writing!
 
If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?
 
I am happy with the final outcome of Love Letters but I would love to write the story that inspired Love Letters. To be continued. 🙂
 
Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?
 
I loved to write poetry as a young boy, it was stress reliever growing up. I had to deal with my mom being sick and eventually dying of cancer at the age of 12 and when I felt that no one understood me. Writing was always there to be a friend when I needed to express myself.
 
Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Letter 4
My Love,
Love remembers no wrongs. Don’t be afraid, I will not judge. I will not condemn.
Lift your head and see beyond the blemishes. I don’t hate you and I don’t punish you.
I see your fear and it pains me. When the world left you, I was there.
When your loved one passed away, I was there. When you were hurt, I cried with you.
Though the shadow of death has followed you, you live. I will not leave you.
You have the power to create the world you desire. I heard your cry; now hear mine. Follow me.
Letter 27
My Love,
You are good enough. You have what it takes to overcome every challenge in front of you.
You are covered. Your mistakes are covered, your choices are covered, and your life is covered.
You are covered in love, I will not let go of what I love.
What is your desire? What I have, I give freely. You don’t have to worry, I have you covered.
Before your existence, I planned your days. I provided for your life.
Know that love is yours; you will not go bankrupt by sharing it.
I waste nothing; everything has a purpose. Simply put, it is “all good.”
When you see love, you see.
 

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

JK Rowling she can put you in a world and you see everything clearly. Everything is so detailed, you feel you are apart of the story. When I read Harry Potter it took me a couple of weeks to get the characters out of my thoughts. 🙂

Who designed the covers of you books?
 
My first 4 books were designed by Katawi Cato and last 6 by my lovely wife Maia Gardner. My wife is such a big part of the success of each book. Without her help I don’t believe I would have 10 books published.
 
What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works?
 
The cutting process is humbling for me. Writing is easy for me but crafting a book and letting go of things that were important when I was writing but unnecassary for the book is always hard to do.  Also being patient with my books when things are not coming together like I want them to.  I struggle with being patient and I guess that is why I write about the necessity of being patient in life so much.  
Do you have any advice for other writers?
 
Write!!
Don’t judge yourself too harshly.
Enjoy the journey.
Don’t talk when you could be writing. Meaning use your energy wisely.
Be gracious and celebrate your accomplishments.
Don’t be lazy, don’t ask someone to do what you know you can do and do it better.
Believe in yourself.
Don’t be afraid of chaos for it creates a fresh perspective.
Most importantly, write. It is the only way you will get better.
 

We are all connected, so if you are inspired by one of my books don’t keep it to yourself. Share yourself with the world. The world need to hear you. You have a voice, use it.

Stalker Sites

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Blog

Want to have your interview on my blog? Fill out the form here!