Interview with Anna Ellis

Posted on October 4, 2013

1


Please welcome the wonderful Anna Ellis! She gives an amazing excerpt from her WIP! Be sure to check it out! 🙂

Do you write under any other names? 

Holly Kerr

What are you currently working on?

Book 2 of my Husband and Wives series, The Husbands, will be out next week!  And I’m busy finishing up Book 3, to have it out in December!

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

Making Friends, Book One of the Husband and Wives series is available at amazon.
Also, Baby! Baby? Baby?! by Holly Kerr. It’s a chick-lit novel available on-line everywhere, both on ebook and bookbook.

What inspired you to write your first book?

Honestly?  I noticed when I was writing sex scenes, they began to get a little more graphic than what should be in the typical chick-lit/romance novels.  After all the hoopla about the Fifty Shades books and the emergence of all these erotica books becoming more mainstream, I thought it might be fun to give it a try!

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?

My style is pretty casual.  I like writing in first person and Making Friends is in present tense, which is different, but seemed to work for the story.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

I had called it something else.  It’s about couples so Husbands and Wives fit.  Making Friends is pretty generic, but seemed to work

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?

I write because I enjoy it, and I’d like people to enjoy reading my work.  I know it’s not much of a message!

How much of the book is realistic/true?

None! I don’t know anyone who has a relationship/understanding like Jacey and Dominic and their friends! They’re probably out there, but I don’t know them!

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My husband and I have close friendships with several couples, but it’s just friendships.  Nothing else goes on!

What books have most influenced your life most?

For this writing in this genre – The S.E.C.R.E.T by L.Marie Adeline. She learned from the hype surrounding Fifty Shades and made something better out of it.
I read tons of Jackie Collins and Judith Krantz books when I was younger, which taught me lots about writing scenes of an intimate nature. Also Jilly Cooper – she’s amazing!

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?

Who I would want to mentor me?  Someone like Nora Roberts/J.D Robb.  I’d like to find out how she keeps the stories and characters separate and just how she can write books that quickly!

What book are you reading now?

The Glass Wives by Amy Sue Nathan.  It’s good – it’s about the ex-wife and the widow of a man living together after his sudden death

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My friends are a great support to me.  My number one beta reader, Ana, is just amazing.  Also, I’ve found other indie writers are amazing – so encouraging and helpful!  It’s just a wonderful online community!

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

A career.  It was a hobby for years because I just did it for myself, but now I’ve put it out there for everyone to enjoy, which makes it a career.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I think I’d change the relationship between Jacey and Joe.  I’m not sure what I’d change it to, but I think I would.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I was always writing as a kid.  I came up with stories in my head and then I started to write them done.  30 years later – I have books to show for it!

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s a little bit from Book 2 – The Husbands.

I went to a key party last night.
Not only that, but I had sex with someone who isn’t my husband.
Will this mean the end of Dominic and Jacey? What does it say about my moral values, marital vows, and any hope of leaving the negative connotations of the sexual revolution of the 70s behind us? I can’t help regretting ever letting Mahak lay his hands (or that tongue) on me.
Actually, I don’t think it’s going to be that bad. And I don’t really regret anything that happened with Mahak.
Later, after it all went down (or he went down), I get up and search for my clothes. I feel groggy, my legs are wobbly and if I was any more relaxed I think I’d be asleep. Consequences of good sex, I guess. But usually I’m able to just roll over and go to sleep. Tonight, I have to get myself home from Tia’s.
“You don’t want to stay?” Mahak is stretched out with his arms crossed behind his head, still naked. Maybe if the circumstances were different, I might stop to take a good long look because he does look pretty fine. Obviously Melissa isn’t the only one obsessed with fitness. I can count all six packs on his stomach. But since all I want to do is get out of that room and go home, I only take a cursory glance.
“I’m not much of a snuggler,” I admit. My dress has landed on the floor, partially under the bed. I bend over to retrieve and at the last minute realize I’m buck naked and this move would give Mahak a great look at my ass. Even though this isn’t the time to get shy, since he’s already had a good gander at the whole package, I crouch down instead.
“You have such beautiful skin,” Mahak tells me. “Please, what is your nationality?”
“Little bit of this, little bit of that. Irish and Scottish mainly, but one of my grandfathers was African American. Hence the curls,” I say ruefully, giving a hank of hair a tug. Then I catch sight of my panties on the corner of the bed and grab them. Is there any way to put these gracefully? I bite the bullet and slid them on under my dress. I still haven’t zipped it up and it sags open, almost falling off my shoulders.
“Here, let me.” Mahak thoughtfully gets off the bed to zip it for me. His hand is warm on my back and he leaves it there even after he zips me. “You’re skin is like silk. I have a problem not touching it. Sure you must go?” His breath is hot on the side of my neck, even more so when he brushed my curls aside and kisses the spot where it meets my shoulder, at the same time skimming the tips of his fingers down my arms to my wrists and back up again.
“I think so.” I stand there and continue to let Mahak kiss my neck because I’m not sure if my legs are steady enough to walk me out of there. And if I glance over my shoulder at him in all his naked glory, there’s no way I’m getting out of here.
“You’re intoxicating,” he breathes, burrowing his nose in the crease under my jaw.
“I think we’re both intoxicat-ed,” I say feebly.
“Shh. I must tell you how much I have enjoyed myself.” He turns his attention to the other side of my neck. I feel his tongue dart out under my ear and just about lose it. “I think you did too.”
“Yes.” My voice cracks on the word.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the time!  And I find it difficult to turn it off sometimes – when you’re in the middle of something and you really have to stop because the kids are home or something…I get frustrated when I stop before I’m ready to!

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Jilly Cooper has always been one of my favourites. I love how she develops her characters, and how they are both larger-than-life, and yet realistic.

Who designed the covers of you books?

A graphic designer named Donna Chabot.

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works?

There’s always a part in the story where everything you planned out has happened and all you need to do is tie up the loose ends and finish it.  That little break between the two – that’s always the most difficult for me to write!

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing, keep practicing and if you really love it, and it’s what you want to do, don’t give up.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you!!  It means a lot to find someone who wants to read what I write!

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to to life?

Publishing was the most difficult.  Making the decision to self-publish.

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?

From this series – I like Melissa because she’s the most fun to write.  She’s annoying and can be a bitch but she’s sort of endearing as well.

Stalker Links:

Website | Facebook

Want to be interviewed by me and featured on my blog?! Click here to find out how!