Interview with Pamela Rose

Posted on October 1, 2013

0


 

Please give a warm welcome to the lovely, Pamela Rase!

 

 

Do you write under any other names? 

Pamela Rose is the one and only pen name for Pamela Rose Hofer

What are you currently working on?

The second book in the Finn Sherlock series is what I’m currently plotting.  It has the working title of Sherlock’s Home:  The Adventure of the Indigo Idiot.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

To date I’ve published three books:  The Eyes of the Jaguar (mystery adventure); A Thyme to Harvest (mystery cozy); and Sherlock’s Home:  The Adventure of the Contentious Crone, (also a mystery cozy.)

What inspired you to write your first book?

Good question.  I’ve earned a living as a professional writer in different venues.  Like many people, I thought, “Someday, maybe I’ll write a book.”  But, there’s a big difference in dreaming and doing.  My dreams had to be given legs or they would remain just wishful thinking.  So, I did what I typically do…I backed into the whole process.  I never told myself that I was actually going to publish anything, I was just going to put virtual pen to paper and see what happened.  I knew that I wanted to write a mystery, because that’s the genre I usually read.  I roughed out “A Thyme to Harvest,” just to see if I could get the whole ‘plotting’ process to work for me.  When finished, I thought, “Well, that wasn’t too bad, maybe I’ll do it for real this time.”  The result was “The Eyes of the Jaguar,” my first published novel and a bit of an opus for me.  Having accomplished that, my next thought was “Gee, maybe I should do something for real with ‘Thyme.’  I polished and expanded it, then it too was published. The next book, the first in the Sherlock’s Homes series, was where I really got serious about the whole writing ‘biz.’  Now I’m completely hooked!

 

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

My titles are always a work in process.  I usually come up with a working title then take it from there.  For instance, the Sherlock’s Home series is designed to have one book for every letter in the alphabet.  I’ve already devised those working titles, (26–Yikes!) which give the reader some small idea what each one is about, but that’s always subject to change as each book evolves over time within the process of writing.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?

In addition to being a rollicking good read, the prevailing message in my mystery cozies is one that says, ‘no matter how clever you are in committing murder, someone else, equally as clever, will figure it out and expose you.’ In other words:  Justice will be served.  Despite a quote attributed to comic Richard Pryor, “There is no justice…there’s just US.” I’d like to think that in the main he was wrong.  I also hope that the reader takes away a sense of close family and community ties, providing an escape of sort for readers (which includes most of us) whose lives aren’t always played out quite so perfectly. Growing up on a rather isolated Indiana farmstead books became some of my best friends.  My mother always said that she might not know exactly where to find me, but she knew that when she did, she’d always find me with a book in my hands.

What books have most influenced your life most?

Lewis Carroll, the author of “Through the Looking Glass,” has been a major influence on me as far as writing ‘possibilities.’  When he created Alice’s world, it jazzed me to think what a unique and strange world it was, and that as I writer, I could do likewise.  Oh, what fun!  “Jabberwocky,” too.  It was the first time I realized that nonsensical words could replace real ones, create a delightful place and still get the message across.  That opened up a whole world of thought to me as a writer.  No limits–except those bound by the imagination.  As a reader, the works of Agatha Christie and Arthur Conan Doyle intrigued me and influenced my writing style, as well as several others.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?

There have been so many.  Clive Cussler’s ability to draw from a well of history and incorporate that into his novels is remarkable.  Agatha Christie’s plotting capabilities are legendary.  Louise Penny and her Inspector Gamache are amazing.  Not only are her books extremely well written, as a reader I want to head to Three Pines, get acquainted with her very human characters, and sit down and have a cuppa.  Sir Arthur Conan Doyle certainly created a unique character with Sherlock Holmes.  Again, there are many writing mentors.  I look at a piece of writing and think, “Oh, well done.”  Followed by my next thought which is, “Now…how can I do that?”

What book are you reading now?

Clive Cussler’s…”The Mayan Secrets” with Remi and Sam Fargo.  What a great adventure.  I love it!

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Well, I can’t limit it to just one!  My friends have all offered me tireless encouragement, Cindy Rosser, Carol White, Jane Spottedbird, Alan Hart, Bart J. Gilbertson, Robert Warr, Kate Eileen Shannon…shall I go on? (Laughs)  Suffice it to say, these and various others have encouraged my writing. My high school Journalism instructor, Mrs. Lambert, blew my socks off when she told me that in all her years of teaching, she’d never encountered a better writer.  (Ha!  She may have said that to many of her students!)

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

My writing is definitely a full time career now.  Like the Stay-Puft Marshmallow Man from the movie “Ghostbusters,” if I don’t get all this writing out of me I’m going to explode!  All kidding aside, I’ve written part-time for several years now, but it has slowly evolved into full time engagement.  With all the plotting, researching and writing, then the all-consuming job of public relations, to do it justice (there’s that word again!) there’s no time for anything else, and that’s a fact that pleases me very much.  Remember those 26 books I’ve committed to write?  Yikes!  I’d better get busy.

 

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Oh, yes.  I remember one specific incident:  Third grade, Mrs. Miller’s class.  With not a little trepidation I gave my very first book report on a tiny tome called ‘Twig.’ We were all required to read our various reports aloud in class.  Later, I was startled to learn that almost everyone in my class had voluntarily signed up to read the book after me as a result of hearing my report.  It was my first brush with real power and it was intoxicating.  I guess you could say that ever since that moment I’ve been wielding that particular ‘sword’ whenever I could!

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

My current work in progress is number two in the Finn Sherlock series, “The Adventure of the Indigo Idiot.”  Once again Uncle Oz displays his interest in all things mystical when he is caught up with what is called in today’s jargon, an ‘indigo,’ someone who claims to have somewhat mystical capabilities…the embodiment of the supposed next step in human evolution.  It’s a fun concept to explore…I’m giving my readers a chance to explore it with me.  So stay tuned!

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

For this mystery writer, the challenge is to deceive my reader. (Laughter here.) I want to scatter red herrings all over the place and make the job of unearthing the murderer as difficult as possible. “Red herring” is a concept that is really apt for mysteries…I believe it comes from fox hunters deliberately using the scent of fish to obscure the fox’s trail from the hounds, thereby giving the fox a sporting chance at escape.  Tally Ho!  In the same way, it must be possible, if readers are really paying attention, to unveil the murderer, otherwise it would defy one of the mystery conventions that says that one must play fair with one’s reader.  And, it should be done in a way that is absolutely entertaining and draws the reader into the story.

 

Do you have any advice for other writers?

I don’t know that I could add much advice that probably hasn’t already been given, but I will say this: “In the end, it doesn’t matter what anyone says about your writing, and believe me, there will be much said, positive and negative.  It only matters what YOU think of your writing.  Authors write for themselves first…then their readers.  It has to be that way, otherwise nothing of any lasting value would ever get written.  Work hard…give it your best shot.  Take the good, the bad and the so-so critiques of your writing and filter it through your own experience. It’s all just a glorious game…remember that.”

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope my readers enjoy the Finn Sherlock series.  I’ve tried to create a bookstore/bakery environment like that of one I would want to visit.  A virtual reality, if you will, all in the mind of the reader. One where you can prop your feet up before a fireplace, drinking your coffee or cocoa and just get lost in the stacks.  My goal is to give each reader a temporary respite where they can lose themselves a few moments in a fictional place that is comfortable, warm and welcoming.  In today’s hurly-burly world, that’s always a plus.

 

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?

I love all my characters…that’s why I made them!  But, I will say that Uncle Oz is a particular favorite.  His character has given me the opportunity to create a male persona who is quite loving, comical and wise.  Like most of us, he has his moments when he gets a little crazy, but basically his character is bedrock, he can always be counted upon to deliver the goods.  I have people in my life who are like that.  My wish is that it could be so for all my readers.

 

Stalker Links:

If you would like to know more about mystery writer Pamela Rose and her books, here’s where to look:
Official Pamela Rose website: http://pamelarosebestsellin.wix.com/pamela-rose
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/author/pamelarose
Finn Fan Club Page: http://www.facebook.com/finnfanclub
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1aX8lN0
Email: http://www.pamelarosebestsellingauthor@yahoo.com

Check out her books on Goodreads:

Want to be interviewed by me and featured on my blog?! Click here to find out how!