Interview with Emily Fayad

Posted on September 30, 2013

2


A wonderful supporter of my journey thus far has been Emily Fayad! Please enjoy her amazing interview! 😀

Do you write under any other name? Yes, my pen name is E.F. Rose

What are you currently working on?  I’m currently working on two projects right now.  One of the projects is a poetry book and the other is my first novel, which is still in it’s infancy.  My novel is so young, in fact, that I haven’t even settled on a title for it yet.  I’m on the home stretch for finishing up on my poetry book though, which I’ve titled “Echoes”.  I hope to have this book finished and published by next month on Kindle.  My poetry book is a project that’s very close to my heart.  I have been writing poetry for a long time now, but before recently I had never thought of publishing any of it.   After the encouragement of some good friends and my family I realized that publishing my poetry would be a great way to get my foot in the door, so to speak.  I’ve wanted to be an author for as long as I can remember, and with my first novel coming along I really wanted to start getting my name out there.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?  As of this very moment I don’t have anything published, but as I had mentioned above I should have my first book published through Amazon next month.  I’m really hoping that “Echoes” will get some good attention, and that people enjoy reading my poetry as much as I enjoyed writing it.

What inspired you to write your first book?  I’ll have to say that what has inspired me to begin writing my first novel is other books that I have read.  I remember specifically sitting down and reading one of my many novels by J.R. Ward, and thinking how much fun it must have been for her to write these.  That night I sat there thinking of different characters that I’ve enjoyed reading about over the years, and that was when my main character in my novel, Christian, was born.  Once he showed up my other characters quickly followed!  Soon after that I sat down and put pen to paper, and I’ve never really stopped!

How did you come up with the titles of your book(s)?  “Echoes” was actually first thought of by my boyfriend.  Though I would love to take the credit for coming up with such a great title, with this book that was not the case.  I had been trying for several days to come up with a title for my poetry book.  I had gone through all the titles for my poems and all of my favorite lines out of each one, but nothing really stood out to me as being THE title.  One night my boyfriend was watching me pull my hair out in frustration and offered to helping me think of some options.  After throwing around a couple of ideas he came up with titling it “Echoes”.  I loved it, and the more time passes, the more I realize just how perfect that title is!

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?  Not necessarily a specific message or moral.  But, there are many attributes that my characters possess which may strike some particularly personal chords for the readers.  If a reader sees something in one of my characters or a particular situation that allows them to personally relate and maybe even find out something about themselves…then I will feel like I have truly done my job.

How much of the book is realistic/true?  Some of my poems are very realistic, maybe not for me personally, but for some individuals that I know.  Yet most of my poems do have “a truth” to them, for some a very hard one, and it’s through these truths that I hope to reach my readers.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?   There are a few of my poems that I would say are loosely based on either my own experiences or people that I know.  Most of them though come right from either my imagination or things that I’ve read about in the past.

What books have influenced your life most?  A major influence for my poetry was the works of Edgar Allan Poe.  His writing astonished and enticed me from the very start.  Some of my earlier poems and short stories were inspired by his writing.

What book are you reading now?  Right now I’m reading “The Mark of Cain – The Cain Chronicles: Book One” by A.D. Seeley.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.  All of my friends have been extremely supportive of me throughout the years but I’ll have to say that my boyfriend has been a constant source of support for me.  He pushes me to continue when I want to give up, he supports every decision I make, and he is someone I can count on to tell me if I need to work on something a little more.  I do have a lot of fantastic friends though!

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?   When I first started writing poetry it was definitely more of a hobby to me.  I saw it as a way for me to express myself and I found that my poetry was able to help me through things that, in my eyes, no diary or journal could ever do.  The more I write though, especially now that I’ve started writing a novel, I would love nothing more than for this to turn into a career.  My goal now is to get to the point that when I have to get up to go to work the farthest that I’ll have to go is to my laptop.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?  I believe I was in either the 4th or 5th grade and my teacher, Mrs. Harrington, wanted everyone in the class to write a story but tell it from a character’s point of view that you wouldn’t normally hear it told from.  I ended up writing a medieval story but from the dragon’s point of view.  I remember how much fun I had talking about how he really didn’t like burning up the knights that would come to his cave but that they always woke him up and he was cranky when he first woke up… lol… Anyway after I turned it in my teacher pulled me aside and told me that I had done an exceptional job with my story, she said that I did such a good job writing it that I should write more.  The conversation we had has always stuck with me and to this day I always think back on her words whenever I sit down to start writing something.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?  As I said I’m still in the early stages of writing my novel but here’s a little bit of Chapter 2 (Hope you like it):

Not taking his eyes off of the man, Christian began to walk slowly to the side, pulling the stranger further and further from the woman.  The man, now visibly shaking with anger, growled at Christian, “You’re going to pay for this you sorry piece of shit!”  Reaching into his back pocket the foul man produced a rather impressive looking blade.  Waving it in the air aggressively, the man dared Christian to come at him.

Not yet, Christian thought as he rolled his shoulder blades.  He could feel his skin start to vibrate as he glared at the man.  Lunging at him, Christian slammed the man to the ground and they rolled in a mess of fists and growls.  The stranger’s blade cut into Christian’s arm as he turned to grab his wrist, snapping it like a twig in his hand, and producing a pain filled howl from the stranger’s lips.

Leaping back Christian could feel a slight trickle of blood begin to fall down his arm.  The stinging pain only caused his anger to increase.  He took in a deep breath as he felt the tingle in his back turn into a warm throb.  Not knowing how much longer he was going to be able to play nice with his smelly sparring mate, he was going to have to act fast.

Breathing deeply between his clenched teeth Christian knelt down and ran his hand over his wounded arm.  He watched as the stranger reached over with his good hand to retrieve the knife from where it had fallen.  Running his tongue over his now swollen and bloody lips he sneered at Christian, “You’re going to pay for breakin’ my fuckin’ wrist boy!” He turned his head and spit bright red blood onto the cement, “Now it’s my turn!”

The man rushed at Christian, awkwardly stumbling over himself in his attempt to knock Christian off of his feet.  Seeing that this move was well anticipated by Christian he met him head on and rewarded this action with a world shattering punch to the man’s jaw.  As the man was thrown sideways from the impact he reached up with his good arm and sliced his knife across Christian’s cheek.

Standing over the fallen man Christian reached up and touched his face, only to bring his hand away with blood stained fingers.  The rush he now felt would not be calmed with a deep breath or any other kind crazy mantra he’d been taught to use.

Christian could feel the heat rushing through his body as his back muscles began to move.  He slowly brought his gaze up to meet the still downed man and upon eye contact he saw an instant and familiar change come across the man’s face.

“You’re eyes!” He whispered, as though to speak any louder would be to make what he was seeing more real.  “What the fuck is happening to your fuckin’ eyes?”

Christian knew that his once ice blue eyes were now a pure midnight black.  The eyes were always the first to change.  He turned his head to the side as he peered at the man, savouring the fear coming off of him as his eyes continued to widen.  Christian groaned inwardly, he could feel the pressure in his back releasing as it split open, ripping his t-shirt down the middle, and producing a devilish set of black wings which stretched far above him.  Their black feathers shined in the dim light of the alley as he extended them to their full length, the tips of them just brushing the ground at his feet.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?  Conversation has always been a challenge for me to write… Lol… I can’t even count how many time’s I write, rewrite, read out loud, and then rewrite again a conversation in my stories.  I strive to make the conversations as realistic as possible and often find this to be easier said than done.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  I have so many favorite authors it’s almost hard to pick just one! Lol…  I’d have to say the one I’m following the most right now would be J.R. Ward.  I absolutely love her characters and I’m so intrigued by her stories.  Each one brings me into this fantastic world that she’s created and, once I reach the end, I’m left wanting, if not painfully craving, more.  Did I mention that I love her characters… Lol…

Who designed the covers of your books?  Right now I don’t have a finished book cover for “Echoes” but my best friend, Diana Muniz – who is an amazing photographer as well as designer, is working on it.  We sat down the other day and came up with some fantastic ideas for it, I know it’s going to look amazing.  I look forward to being able to share my finished cover with everyone real soon.

What was the hardest part of writing any of your works?  Sitting down and starting… Lol… Once I get going I can be writing for hours without even realizing it, but the act of actually sitting down and typing that first line can be overwhelming.

Do you have any advice for other writers?  If whenever you think about sitting down and writing you get that excited but nervous feeling in the pit of your stomach then you’re on the right path… lol… It will be tough, and there will be times that you’ll ask yourself, “What am I doing?” but just know that it’s all worth it!  Also remember that for every person that tells you that you can’t , there are ten other’s cheering you on!

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?  I want everyone that reads my poems and stories, to like them of course.  For you see, I write just as much for my readers as I do for myself!  I also want to say though that I hope they all know how truly honored I am that each and every one of them chose to look at my writing to begin with.  This has been such an amazing journey already and the support I’ve received from my readers has left me speechless!

What characters from your writing is your favorite and why?  So far, in my novel that I’m working on, I’d have to say Christian is my favorite.  He is everything that I’ve come to love in all the many novels that I’ve read over the years, with just a dash of everything that I’ve wanted to add to them.

Stalker Sites:

Facebook | Blog | Twitter | Wattpad

Want to have your interview on my blog? Fill out the form here!