Interview with Alicia J. Love

Posted on September 25, 2013

0


Good Morning everyone! Please give a warm welcome to Alicia J. Love! I hope you all enjoy her interview just as much as I did!

Do you write under any other names? 

No.

What are you currently working on?

The third book in The Seven Uniters Series, Redemption.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

1. Reincarnation (#1 – The Seven Uniters)


2. Revolution (#2 – The Seven Uniters)


3. Aaria of the Seven Uniters (The Seven Uniters: The Originals – Vol. 1)
4. Jakkob of the Seven Uniters (The Seven Uniters: The Originals – Vol. 2)
5. Esther’s Progeny

What inspired you to write your first book?

I have always been a writer, but suddenly, last summer, I had a huge story brewing within me. A seven part series that needed so very badly to burst forth from my fingertips. I simply obliged, allowing my first book, Reincarnation, out of myself. I believe that I am more of a medium for my story, simply channeling the words through my keyboard.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?

I prefer to write in third person, yet I have always wanted to write a book from first person as well. I like to try to expand my writing style and technique over time. I specifically try to read books from different perspectives and different writing styles and attempt to learn as much as I can from them.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

My first book, Reincarnation, is about a girl discovering she is reincarnated from one of the legendary Seven Uniters, beings gifted with powers and destined to maintain balance in the universe. I wanted a one word title, and Reincarnation fit. In Revolution, Hailey ends up on a different planet, one which is ruled by an evil tyrant. She leads the people in a revolution, hence the name. After Reincarnation and Revolution, I realized I have a theme, and decided to stick with it. Actually, in my attempts to find a title for the third book, I was failing. I finally stumbled across Redemption, and everything clicked into place, including a whole new part of the story. It was actually the name that created most of book three, which should be released this fall.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?

Hailey starts out as an abused, lonely teen with absolutely no self confidence. She thinks nothing of herself, until she begins to change. She discovers her powers in a fit of rage, and soon realizes she is more than she could have ever imagined. My main message is about people finding their strength, finding themselves, and realizing their potential.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I admit, Hailey is based on me. A lot of her experiences are exaggerated scenarios that I myself experienced. A lot of her feelings are based on how I felt. I put a lot of myself in her, her self doubt, anxiety, PTSD. To be honest, as she grows, and comes to respect herself and becomes empowered, I think I do as well.

What books have most influenced your life most?

I think the Harry Potter books influenced me the most. I have read each of them multiple times, and I think they inspired me quite a bit. J.K. Rowling began writing HP on napkins in a coffee shop, and has become one of the most successful authors out there. She is inspiring.

What book are you reading now?

I am currently reading The Fallen Star series by Jessica Sorenson. It is from the first person perspective, and I really respect how personable her characters are. I really feel like I can relate to them, and am trying to learn how to make my own characters as personable.

 

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

I definitely see writing as a career. I love it, and truly believe I can become successful. Plus, it just comes so naturally to me. I can see myself writing for the rest of my life.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would change my first book. I realized after it was written that there isn’t enough dialogue. I am considering making a few changes and releasing a new edition.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I have been writing for as long as I can remember. Since elementary school.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Redemption is the third installment in The Seven Uniters Series. It picks up right where book two left off. Hailey is on yet another planet, which is completely different than the other planets she has been on. There are strange creatures, and a walled city ruled by a religious order where her kind are considered to be abominations. She must hide her identity and her power, which she still doesn’t know how to control very well. She is there for a reason, she just has to discover what it is.

Redemption Coming Soon Teaser: 

Who designed the covers of you books?

I did! My original cover for Reincarnation was very simple, and I got some not-so-positive feedback. So, umpteen GIMP tutorials later, I decided to make a better cover. I am definitely proud of it, and designed book two as well. I have a rough draft of book three, with a ‘coming soon’ sticker on it, up now, but it is definitely a work in progress.

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works?

I wrote Reincarnation in less than two months, and Revolution in three weeks. Redemption, however, is coming along very slowly. I feel the pressure of the first two bearing down on me, which it shouldn’t. I set the bar too high, and now I am struggling with book three. I am trying to let go of it, but to be honest, I feel like I should be able to write Redemption in three weeks as well. I know that it is silly, and that most people take months and month to finish a book, but it is still making writing Redemption pretty difficult.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

DO NOT CARE ABOUT WORD COUNT.
It is a huge deal. If you are more concerned with meeting your quota than writing the story, the story will end up lacking. If you simply write the story, letting it flow from your fingertips, you will end up with a higher quality, which always trumps quantity.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Leave me reviews! Even terrible ones! I absolutely appreciate any feedback I get, even if it is only one star! As a self published author with no editor or official education, I am always looking to improve and your feedback is where I learn!

Stalker Links:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

Want to be interviewed by me and featured on my blog?! Click here to find out how!