Interview with Jean Erhardt

Posted on September 21, 2013

0


I have had the privilege to be introduced this is wonderful author and I am so pleased to be able to share the Interview with Jean Erhardt today! 😀

 

Do you write under any other names? 

nope

What are you currently working on?

Currently working on the fifth book in my Kim Claypoole mystery series.  Also, have just begun work on the first in a new mystery series featuring Portland, OR PI, Haley Hammel.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

Small Town Trouble

What inspired you to write your first book?

I have always like to hear a good story as well as tell one.  I was a great liar as a kid.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?

I tend to write and read first person.  It just feels more immediate.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

I wanted to emphasize the small town aspect and each book in the series will have the word TROUBLE in it.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?

I want readers to be entertained and laugh out loud occasionally.

How much of the book is realistic/true?

I’ll never tell.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It is all a marinade, really.

What books have most influenced your life most?

Taking Care by Joy Williams.  Her stories are spare, stunning, beautiful and horrible.  Also, mystery writer Kinky Friedman has been a big influence.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?

Joy Williams.  She has taught me the economy and beauty of words.

What book are you reading now?

How to Greet Strangers:A Mystery by Joyce Thompson.  Terrific!

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My fantastic friends!

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

Both

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Maybe add a bit of sex.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I have always liked a great story, and the escape of reading and writing.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

To read the beginning of Small Town trouble, check it out here!

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

TIME!  I work full-time in cemetery sales.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Joy Williams for all of the above reasons.  Kinky Friedman for the humor.

Who designed the covers of you books?

My sister, Sara Erhardt, shot the cover photo of a small town near where we grew up in Southern Ohio.  Tatiana Villa did the graphics.

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works?

Getting the time and having energy left over after working full-time.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write whether you feel like it or not.  Also, choose your critics wisely.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I sincerely hope you have a good time reading my books and will tell your friends!

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to to life?

TIME!

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?

Of course, I like the protagonist, Kim Claypoole.  Great fun to live vicariously.

Additional Information you’d like to share:

Audiobook for SMALL TOWN TROUBLE in the works.  Also, watch for the 2nd in the Kim Claypoole series, DEEP TROUBLE, at the end of the year!

Stalker Links:

Website | Facebook | Amazon

Want to be interviewed by me and featured on my blog?! Click here to find out how!