Author Interview with D.P.Nicholls

Posted on September 21, 2013

0


Today, I am bringing you the amazing interview of D.P.Nicholls!

D.P. Nicholls

 

Do you write under any other names? 

Although my real name is David Nicholls, The name I go under for writing is D.P.Nicholls. This is due that a friend of mine called David Nicholls is far more famous than me and I would want any confusion

What are you currently working on?

I haven’t as yet given it a title, but it revolves around the Kabala and the ability to travel back in time.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

My only published book at the moment is OUTERNET

What inspired you to write your first book?

I had been in the world of advertising for many years and was suddenly made redundant (hate that word) and thought it was about time I put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) and wrote a young adults book called ‘Benny and his magic wand’.

When I finished it, although I enjoyed writing it, I didn’t feel at the time it was worthy for publication, but now I have gone through the complete process of publishing, I will be blowing the dust of it and getting it right for publication.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?

Unfortunately, I don’t have the ability to write pages and pages of how the leaves look in the garden and tend to get down to the relevant points quicker than perhaps I should do. This can be both a good and bad thing, but hey ho, that’s my style.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

A few years back I poised a question on a social networking site called Linkedin, where I asked people what would there life’s be like if the Internet stopped working forever. The response was extremely interesting. In a nutshell, the ‘younger’ generation felt that their life would come to an end and the ‘older’ generation thought it would be an hindrance, but may not be a bad thing. This lead me on to imagine a scenario of what would happen if the internet was indeed taken down. From here the story developed and a virus which is core to the story was named the opposite to the internet and we finished up with OUTERNET.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?

I didn’t really write the story to give a message, but I did want people to think that considering this technology has only been around for less than thirty years, the dependence we as a society on this technology is immense. From finance, distribution, health etc etc, we are all totally dependent upon the internet in one way or another and ‘should’ my scenario ever come to fruition , which is not beyond the realms of possibility, and without having a fall back plan, the effects on society would be momentous.

How much of the book is realistic/true?

Although the basis of my book is fictional, the premise of my book is true.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

No, just the realisation of the dependency we have on the internet.

What books have most influenced your life most?

Robinson Crusoe

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?

Gerard de Marigny, a fantastic writer and friend who kicked my butt when I flagged.

What book are you reading now?

Signs of War

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Gerard de Marigny

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

I would love it to be a career, but needs must.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It’s always been there but I found every excuse under the sun why I couldn’t, untill the xcuses ran out

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Because I am not one of those writers who have the whole story mapped out before I begin, I get  a great buzz in wondering how my story will develope

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

John Grisham. He keeps my normally low boredom threshold at bay

Who designed the covers of you books?

Phil Scott an excellent graphic designer

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works?

The editing process _ I hate it.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep at it and DON’T give up. There are many avenues now to get your work out and unlike a few years ago, where you had to beg borrow and steal to get an agent and then a publisher, the whole scene has totally changed. Join groups and take advice.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Enjoy the book and please leave a review

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to to life?

Being English and the fact that the story is written as an american, I didn’t realize how differently we speak (only joking) but there are many differences in phraseology and words, so this was my biggest challenge.

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?

Roland Bouverie. I suppose I see a bit of me in him

Additional Information you’d like to share:

I am the owner of a Linkedin group called ‘Aspiring Writers’ with over 11,000 members worldwide. I started this group when I was totally niave about the writing and publishing industry and when I finished ‘Benny’ and expected agents and publishers to be lining up at my door, which of course they weren’t. I got frustrated and started this group, thinking that a few Brits would join and we would all have a good moan about the publishing industry. As I’ve stated, this has now grown into one of the largest writers groups and where many are getting great help and support from other writers.

Stalker Links:

Amazon (U.K.) | Website | Reviews | Facebook | Goodreads

 

Want to be interviewed by me and featured on my blog?! Click here to find out how!