Interview with Leigh Hershkovich

Posted on September 19, 2013

0


This afternoon is all about Leigh Hershkovich, the  Author, blogger and all around book fanatic!

Do you write under any other names? No, only my own!

What are you currently working on? Right now, I am working on promoting my first novel, Shattered Illusions. I have an idea for my next novel, and will begin to work on it at the end of the Summer. The working title is Revised Visions.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles? My first novel, Shattered Illusions, was released in May (2013).

What inspired you to write your first book? I read a novel titled The Angels Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon six months before I started writing Shattered Illusions. One of the themes that was briefly explored in the novel jumped out at me, and I follow through with that theme, which is how Shattered Illusions came to life.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)? I was going through a lot of different experiences around the time that I had started writing the novel. I found that a lot of the illusions I had about life were not longer applicable to me as I grew older, which is where the title came from.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp? What I really wanted to bring across readers with this book is that humans will error by nature, regardless of who they are, or where they come from.

How much of the book is realistic/true? Many of the stories in the book come from real events, or are very losely based off real events.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life? Yes and no. I’ve seen and heard a lot of interesting things, so many of the stories I’ve heard through the years helped shaped the stories and the lives of my characters, but none of the stories are based word for word on a specific event.

What books have most influenced your life most? The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand…Should I go on? I could go on forever!

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”? Definitely Roberto Bolano. His work has changed my life in ways that I never imagined any writer could.

What book are you reading now? Any Human Heart by William Boyd.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. My two english teachers from High school were huge influences in my writing.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby? Definitely as a career.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? YES- My anxiety level! I spent so much time worrying that I didn’t enjoy a lot of the process.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? I’ve always been a storyteller. I’ve always loved spining tales for others to enjoy. It was a form of escape for me, as I find that it is for many writers.

Do you have any advice for other writers? Don’t give up. It sounds cliche, but it’s th most important thing that other writer’s told me, an d it helped alot.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? You guys rock my world!

What character from your writing is your favorite and why? Danny Michaels was my favorite character to write, mainly because he was so difficult. His struggle was the most enjoyable for me to put onto paper.

Stalker Sites:

website | Twitter | Facebook |  YouTube Channel | blog | Goodreads | Tumblr

Buying Links:

 Amazon | Barnes and Nobles | Signed Copies

Want to have your interview on my blog? Fill out the form here!