Author Interview with Angela Carling for the Irresistible Reads Book Tour!

Posted on September 18, 2013

5


becoming bryn

Title: Becoming Bryn

Author: Angela Carling

 Release date: June 15th, 2013

Genre: Young Adult

Tour: Irresistible Reads Book Tours

Book Description:

 

For months, Jesse has been envious of her twin sister Bryn and even has a crush on Bryn’s gorgeous, popular boyfriend, Quinton. When Jesse awakens from a coma to learn that everyone thinks she IS Bryn, the option of actually taking over her sister’s life is beyond tempting, but there’s a downside. She’d have to give up Ethan, her best friend and the only person she trusts. Could she actually live as Bryn for the rest of her life? And if her family and friends found out, would they ever forgive her?

goodreads TBR

What inspired you to write your first book?

It’s such a great story. My middle son who is brilliant and has Aspergers was in this special class for the really gifted (code word for super-smart) class. One day he came home and said “Mom, this class is so hard. You’ve never done anything this hard before.”  Yeah, I know, dumb thing to say, but I realized that by the time my son was born, I’d already graduated from college and he never saw how hard I struggled and believe me I struggled! So, to encourage him, I promised my son that I would do the hardest thing I could think of (write a book) and try to get it published. Seven months later, Unbreakable Love was complete.  By the way, my son did great and we both learned a tonJ

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

My first book is literally about a love that transcends time so Unbreakable Love just fit. My second book Shackled is figuratively and literally about losing your freedom to a controlling person..in my main character’s case it was her high school boyfriend. That book is fast paced and chilling at times, so I wanted a strong word to reflect the topic.  When it came to naming Becoming Bryn, did my publisher and I go ten rounds!  In the end, since Jesse steals her twin sister Bryn’s life, the title Becoming Bryn hinted at the huge transformation that Jesse would have to go through.  I will tell you though Becoming Bryn has lots of plot twists and I don’t know how you put that into a name.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?

I want my readers to discover their own message in my books. Most of all, I want to leave them feeling hopeful about life and love. If they finish a book and leave feeling happy, I’m happy.

What books have most influenced your life most?

The first book I truly loved was A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline Le Engle. I still have my copy and the pages are all yellow and crumpled. Since then, I’m a sucker for any good YA love story!

 

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I am working on the COOLEST PROJECT right now. It is a trilogy that takes place about forty years in the future.  Everyone lives on a home that is attached to a track and never lives anywhere more than two months. I’m particularly excited about some of the characters. It will be YA but as the trilogy goes along my characters will be over eighteen and we’ll get to watch them grow up and change the world around them. It is definitely my most complex and biggest project to date!

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I have an evil perfectionist side that I battle. Other than that, writing is super-fun!

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t plan on sleeping ever again! Just kidding. Seriously, though, my suggestion is to just write and read as much as you can. I wish now that I had written about ten books before I submitted one to be published. You learn so much by sheer practice!

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love, love, love you guys. You are my motivation to create and I genuinely appreciate you!!

 

angelaAbout the Author:

Raised in Palm Springs California. A desert rat that writes Young Adult novels and loves all kitties and her family. Can be bribed with chocolate. Published books, Unbreakable Love, Shackled and Becoming Bryn.

Stalker Sites:

Website Facebook | Goodreads | Blog | Twitter

Tour Giveaway:

book-giveaway

 

 

Tour Schedule

Irresistible Reads BT

Want to have your interview on my blog? Fill out the form here!

Posted in: Blog Tours