Book Feature: The Space In Between by Brittainy C. Cherry (Blog Tour)

Posted on September 10, 2013

0


18039226

The Space In Between

by Brittainy C. Cherry

Please enjoy my review on The Space In Between!

5-star-rating

Blurb:

WARNING: The following story contains mature themes, strong language, and sexual situations. It is intended for readers 18+ older.

She’s scarred by her past.

ANDREA EVANS is traumatized and guilt-ridden by the death of her fiancée. Tired of the gossiping small town, she travels to New York City to pursue her dream of dance.

He’s uncertain of his future.

COOPER DAVIDSON is a famous photographer and reality television star trying to flee from his own life filled with paparazzi, mental health clinics, and a cheating wife who is pregnant.

When Andrea and Cooper’s paths cross, they realize how damaged and in need of escapism they both are. The two create an arrangement to explore the space in between chaos and order with one another. The rules are simple—no emotional connections, no talking about the past, no speaking of the future, and when one finds order, the other walks away.

All is well until Cooper accidentally falls in love with Andrea.

Excerpt:

Bending down, I wrapped a sheet around my body and handed Cooper his shirt. I couldn’t even hold in my smile as I watched him stand from the bed. He had the most perfect butt I’d ever seen. I couldn’t find the strength to look away as he slid his boxers on—he was gorgeous. I was torn. My heart was crying out as the pains of my previous actions were now creeping into my mind, yet at the same time I wanted round two of Cooper Davidson.

“I can’t believe we just did that,” he stated as he continued to get dressed. I couldn’t believe it either.

I had a feeling Cooper wasn’t one to partake in random flings. And it wasn’t extremely random what we’d done— we knew each other after all.  We’d grown up together. Well, kind of.

“I don’t know if you felt it…I mean it just felt like…” He paused and shook his head as he continued to button his long-sleeved shirt. My softened expression probably showed him I’d felt it too. It felt like an escape. A way out for a moment in time. But the moment passed, and time had a way of never standing still.

He looked at me in my sheet and studied my curves. I aggressively pulled the sheet tighter to my body and watched as his eyes shifted away from me. He clearly could tell how uncomfortable I was.

“Let me take you out to dinner,” he suggested.

“No.”

He turned to face me and delivered a smile which made every inch of my skin tingle once again. How did he do that? “Why not?”

“It’s against the rules.”

“What rules?”

The rules I had already pretty much destroyed. The Pretty Woman rules. No personal information. That kind of went out of the window when I walked into the VIP room and saw him standing before me.

No kissing on the lips.

Crap.

And no second meet ups. I could hold up to that one. I felt pretty silly thinking about the rules, but Ladasha had taught me them, and it was my duty to follow through with at least one of the rules. And going out to dinner with gorgeous Cooper Davidson was not allowed.

“Come on, tell me. What rules?” He was interested as he raised one of his eyebrows. Everything he did was sexy. The sweat dripping down his forehead? Sexy. The way he bit the tip of his thumb? Sexy. The way he growled in my ear while nibbling it? Sweet mother of everything righteous…He could call me names, ignore my existence, tell me to piss off, and it would still make my body want him to claim me all over again.  But, he would never do those things. He was too much of a southern gentleman.

I blushed at the thoughts filling my head, and lowered my voice to answer his question. “The Pretty Woman rules.”

He drifted over to me, sporting his perfectly perfect dimples. “You do know how that movie ends, right?” Cooper turned away from me and slipped into his pants. I couldn’t help but let a small grin slip from my lips. I realized the expression of pleasure plastered on my face and shook it off as Cooper kept talking. “I just…I don’t want to be one of those guys. I want to take you out to—“

“YOU BITCH!” was heard from the living room. Ladasha was home. “How the hell did you get Roger to let you get a damn promotion without even staying the whole freakin’ night?! And how the hell did you get someone to pay six hundred dollars for a damn lap dance?!” she hollered.

My eyes widened, looking to Cooper. “Six hundred dollars?!” I paused. Well, he got what he paid for.

“I picked up a pizza on the way back, dude. Seriously though. Teach me your…” Ladasha barged into my bedroom before I had a chance to tell Cooper to somehow turn invisible. The piece of Brooklyn style pizza in my roommate’s hand froze in mid-air as Ladasha saw me wrapped in a sheet. Her eyes landed on Cooper and she finished her sentence. “…secrets…”

Her eyes bugged out when she realized there was a man standing in my bedroom. “What did I miss?” she questioned as the cheese on her slice of pizza slid to the floor.

“I should probably get going,” Cooper said, and I agreed before he even finished his thought. We wedged our way past Ladasha, who was fast to follow behind us. Cooper turned to me once we reached the front door, smiling. “I would really like to see you again though, Andrea. I’ve never done this before.” He paused and his cheeks turned rosy with embarrassment. “Well, I’ve done this, just not like this. Ya know?”

He was cute, trying to find the right words. But I couldn’t help but feel a knot in my stomach growing larger and larger. “Coop,” I whispered, trying to make him understand. But his green eyes lit up at the sound of my voice. He rested his hand on his chin and studied me.

“Andie,” he whispered back. I didn’t correct him. To tell you the truth it sounded kind of nice. I opened the front door and allowed him to kiss me on the forehead before he exited. “I’ll call you.”

“Don’t,” I begged.

He grinned and strolled down the hallway. I could still see his dimples in my head as he walked away. I stepped into the hallway and looked in his direction. “No really, Cooper. Don’t.”

Tossing his hand up in the air, he waved goodbye to me. I sighed. That goodbye wave was sexy, too. And that would probably be a problem.  I stepped back into my apartment, closed the door, and slipped down to the ground. Ladasha walked over and slid down to join me.

“Was there an extremely sexy man in our apartment?”

“Yep.”

“And you…had sexy time with him?” she questioned.

“Yep.”

A level of silence filled the room. We sat there, both a bit stunned. Finally Ladasha found the ideal words to say. “Take that, Richard Gere!” she hollered and stood up to do a victorious dance. It involved a lot of awkward air humping and invisible ass slapping. I couldn’t help but chuckle at my overreacting friend. As I glanced at her, my smile faded when I realized what I’d done.  Ladasha also figured out what I’d done and her smile evaporated.

“Andrea…” Her voice was soft, filled with concern; I shook my head and stared forward.

I ‘d just had sex with Cooper Davidson.

Crap.

Purchase:

Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N

goodreads TBR

Gust Post by the Author:

Happily Ever Afters?

I have always been in love with the idea of love. All kinds of love. The romantic love, the friendship love, the dysfunctional family love.

Each of those loves has a different level of depth to them. Let’s look at romantic love for example: There’s the young lovers, old lovers, distant lovers, puppy-love lovers, opposite lovers, stranger lovers, best friend lovers, violent lovers etc…you get the point.

And as a writer, no matter what, I find myself coming back to the idea that my stories have to end with the ‘Happily Ever Afters’.

This isn’t to say that some minor or supporting characters do not die. This isn’t to say that there aren’t super heavy moments in the stories that break your heart. It’s just saying that at the end of the day, on that last page, there is a happy moment.

The way I see it is that people need the happily ever after. Not only do people need it, but they freaking deserve it! You need a moment to feel good and say, “Yes! That’s what it is all about!” It’s not about the money. It’s not about the status. It’s not politics that move us. But it’s that human connection. That feeling that for one moment in time there is another person who sees you for who you are, and still loves you with ever fiber in their being.

As a reader, by all means you deserve to get lost in a love story.

When I craft my characters in my novels, I make it a love triangle. There’s the hero, the heroine, and then there’s you. You get to fall in love, too. You get to watch as it all unfolds. You get to see the hero’s deepest thoughts. You get to experience the heroine’s painful discoveries. You get to watch their false victories and true failures. You are part of them, just as they are a part of you.

People say that romances are the most cliché genres out there and I say SO WHAT?! Since when do we care what they think? A great romance novel makes you stay up late reading, go to sleep dreaming, and wake up longing for more. A great romance novel is a reminder that there is someone else on this planet with the same hopes and dreams that you have. A great romance novel inspires, educates, and leaves your lips curved up with satisfaction of a job well done.

So cliché or not, but happily ever afters are something worth fighting for.

So this is my vow to my readers. This is my promise that my romances will twist at your hearts. I vow that there will be sadness. I vow that there will be laughter. I promise that there will be different levels of love. I promise that there will be anger.

And I promise you there will be always be a happily ever after.

For as long as we both shall live.

Always.

-Brittainy C. Cherry

For more information on the lovely Brittainy C. Cherry, please enjoy her author interview that I had the amazing pleasure to do with her!

book-giveaway

Reading Addiction Blog Tours

Posted in: Blog Tours