Interview with S. Briones Lim

Posted on August 28, 2013

5


Tonight, I am featuring a wonderful interview with S. Briones Lim!! 🙂

s. briones lim(1)

Do you write under any other names?

No, not at the moment.

What are you currently working on?

I am currently editing the 2nd book of the Life Force Trilogy, Red. Simultaneously, I am finishing up the 3rd and final book, Silver, as well as writing bits and pieces of my adult horror novel. What can I say? I like to multi-task

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?

Right now my only (Self) published novel is Green. However, I plan on releasing Red by the end of July 2013 and releasing Silver by Fall 2013. You can find Green exclusively on Amazon at: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DQ8GZCA

What inspired you to write your first book? 

I actually had a strange dream revolving around a glowing ring and dark magic (I blame the basil & garlic I had on my spaghetti for the weird dream). I couldn’t get the dream out of my mind!

I was currently in the middle of writing another novel (currently in my “to be finished” pile) and I just had to put that novel away to begin writing Green. Initially, Green was going to be a lot darker than it is now. However, I was throwing ideas around and somehow Mattie and Hunter were born.  From the get-go I knew how I wanted the first book in the trilogy to end, and I basically wrote the rest of the story with that specific ending in mind.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?

I find that I prefer to write in first person narrative. There’s something about reading books written in first person that I always enjoyed. I think it’s because as a reader you feel as if you’re in the mind of the main character. You see and feel things in real-time. Since I prefer to read in first person (of course there are many exceptions), I find I love writing in it, too.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)?

I wanted the title of each book in the trilogy to be symbolic as well as to relate to one another. Green, Red, & Silver all represent something important in each of the books. For example, Green symbolizes the color of the Life Force. Right now I can’t really tell you what Red and Silver symbolize. You’ll just have to read the books to find out!

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?

In Green I had a running theme of the importance of family. My family is very, very important to me and as I was writing Green I realized that this theme became heavily prevalent throughout the story.

How much of the book is realistic/true?

Green is a Paranormal Romance; so besides the paranormal aspect of it all, I believe the relationships, mannerisms and basic actions are pretty realistic.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Each character embodies certain mannerisms and personalities of not only myself, but also important people in my life. I also like to think about how I would react in certain situations and reflect that in my characters.

Just a little fun trivia for you:  Mattie’s nervous habit of biting the inside of her cheeks is taken directly from my Mom and me, whereas certain remarks and actions of Hunter and Zach were based off my husband.

What books have most influenced your life most?

I love reading and am such a big bookworm. I have so many favorite books and I can honestly say that I have been influenced in some way or another by each and every one of them.  Whenever I write, I like to think about what aspects of my favorite books I love the most. I want to write in a way that allows my readers to enjoy my stories as much as I loved reading my favorite books.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?

I can’t pick just one. I love Jennifer L. Armentrout, J.A. Redmerski, Stephenie Meyer, J.K. Rowling – the list goes on and on.

What book are you reading now?

I’m in the middle of reading Dan Brown’s Inferno. However, I’ve been so caught up editing Red that I haven’t had a chance to finish!

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Besides my family (who I could not have done this without), my friends have been nothing but supportive of me. Their excitement further fuels mine! My Best Friend, for example, proofreads as a part of her career. She was able to read through Green and Red and mark up edits and changes for me. She’ll also be the cover model for Red.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

Personally, I see it as a bit of both. I’ve always loved writing and found it an awesome creative outlet. I’ve been writing as a hobby since I was a child. However, I’d also LOVE to make writing a full-time career. Right now I am working in Advertising full-time and though I love it, it has always been a dream of mine to become a professional author. I’d love to be able to write all the stories swimming around in my head! If only there were more hours in a day. Perhaps one day I can make it a full-time career 

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I wouldn’t change anything in Green, as I think it’s the perfect introduction to Red.  That being said, I am adding a few new things during my third edit of Red. I’m quite excited about it.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My Mother used to read me bedtime stories as a child. She’d never skip a night! I think that’s when my love of books first started. Each time she’d read to me, I’d always think that maybe I could write my own stories, too.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

    Excerpt from Red:

“I’ll always love you.” The voice echoed through my head as I woke up with a start. Sweat rolled down my forehead and I struggled to steady my breathing. The voice. That voice. It was a voice I hadn’t physically heard in centuries, but a voice that still haunted me daily. It was a voice that I tried so hard to always remember, yet a voice I wanted to forget.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

My biggest challenge is probably putting my focus into writing only one novel at a time. Green was actually the only novel I wrote on its own. Red, Silver and a few other projects are being written simultaneously.  When inspiration hits I can’t stop myself from jumping in and beginning another story!

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I love Jennifer L. Armentrout and J.A. Redmerski. I always find myself falling in love with their characters and I always get a book hangover whenever I finish any one of their stories!

Who designed the covers of you books?

I’ve designed and produced the covers for Green and Red, and plan to do the same for Silver as well. Art is another passion of mine and I love being able to meld together two of my hobbies.

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works?

Time is probably the biggest culprit. If possible I’d lock myself up and go into a writing binge, but I have other responsibilities that need my attention as well.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Write with passion and write because you love it

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I’d like to thank each and every single one of them. Whether they know it or not, each one of them has helped me achieve a lifelong dream. The support I’ve been given is unreal. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to life?

Despite the Paranormal aspect of my stories, I wanted all other aspects to be believable. I wanted to make sure each character behaved in a realistic fashion, and I wanted to be sure the logistics of certain events were plausible. There are also historical facts that I made sure to cross-check and research.

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?

Mattie and Hunter are like my babies. I have had an unexplainable bond with both of them from the moment I dreamt them up, to the moment I wrote them on paper. Now that Green is published I feel as if I had just sent my first-born to college! I hope my readers fall in love with them as much as I did.

Stalker Sites:

Blog | Facebook | Goodreads

Want to have your interview on my blog? Fill out the form here!