Interview with Serenity Valle

Posted on August 14, 2013

5


Good Evening Ladies and Gents, please give a warm welcome to the lovely Serenity Valle! Her interview is amazingly entertaining, so please enjoy! 🙂

Do you write under any other names? Nope!
What are you currently working on? I have started the first book of a five book paranormal mystery romance series and am at the editing stage with my second book, a companion novella to my first, The Fantastical Life of Serenity.
How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles? My first book, The Fantastical Life of Serenity: A collection of short stories about what could be… but not quite is was recently published for eReaders and I will be putting it out in paperback soon.
What inspired you to write your first book? My husband did, actually. I’ve been writing a long time, but never published. I wrote mostly poems and short stories. Four of the five stories in Fantastical I had started a couple of years ago but only had a couple of pages of each. My husband is writing a series of steampunk novels and the writing bug bit me again while conversing with him on some events in his book. I went back to the barely started short stories and decided to make them into a collection.
Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer? I don’t know that I prefer one over any other. My first book is in first person past tense, the companion novella is in first person present tense and my paranormal series will be in third person. I don’t write with an outline, rather I fly by the seat of my pants, but I do keep a running list of ideas.
How did you come up with the title of your book(s)? For the first book, it just *poof* came to me. The companion book’s title stemmed from the first. My husband came up with the series title and we brainstormed the name of the first book of that series, the other titles *poofed* into existence from there.
Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp? Not really… not in the ones I’m writing now anyway. My main focus is just to write good books that people want to read.
How much of the book is realistic/true? Well… I admit the first book, and the companion, are loosely based on me, so a lot of what’s in them is true or at least close to.
Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life? Yes, sometimes. Even in the paranormal book I’m writing, the main character is ethnically similar to myself and is very much like me.
What books have most influenced your life? Oh my! I’ve read so many different authors’ works over the years. I might say the Nancy Drew series though. I think I read all of them at least twice.
If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”? The one that comes to mind first is Annette Blair. I read her Accidental Witch series a couple of years ago and it was shortly after that I started writing again.
What book are you reading now? I just finished Dracian Legacy by Priya Kanaparti and am about to start Spying in High Heels by Gemma Halliday.
Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. My editor and friend, Aley. She’s always just a phone call or 5 minute walk away. (And there were a LOT of phone calls regarding Word and how to work it, as I’m used to Open Office)
Do you see writing as a career or a hobby? I see it as a career. I always wanted to work independently, set my own hours and such. I’m the mom of a toddler so I don’t *exactly* set my own hours now, but close enough!
If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? I’m sure I would fix little things… not saying there’s anything wrong with it, I’m just known to go through numerous times and change things. Aley had to take the thing away from me so she could edit it before I started “going over it just one more time”.
Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? I don’t. I’ve been writing since I was 7 years old. I remember some of my stories, but not what started my love of writing.
Can you share a little of your current work with us? It is really in the infancy stage, but I can say that it takes place on a University campus in the US. The two main female characters are roommates who get dragged into a mystery. A bit later they get some help from a very unexpected source (the main male character). More mystery and some romance ensues.
Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Leaving it alone once I’m done!
Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? You’re killing me here! I have no idea! I do love Annette Blair because she writes what *I* call quirky romance (you know, -for example- girl finds out she’s a witch/has supernatural powers but is clutzy or nerdy or something, falls in love, turns guy into toad or some such. Cute, funny, romance. I like that.)
Who designed the covers of you books? Dragonfly Designs, run by Aley mentioned above.
What was the hardest part of writing any of your works? Typing with a toddler in my lap! Seriously!
Do you have any advice for other writers? Don’t give up! Keep trucking, keep trying, keep promoting!
Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? I love you all and hope you love my books!
What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to life? I love research so that’s never a problem and have a University degree in Psychology so I think I’ll be okay there too. I know I will run into some snags with the second book of my series because of where it takes place, luckily my husband knows a LOT about the place, so I’m going to pick his brain! I am anal-retentive when it comes to anachronisms and such, so in my first book, I looked up the day that corresponded to the date in question just so it would be right!
What character from your writing is your favorite and why? Ah man. I don’t know. I love most of my characters, at least the nice ones! If I had to name one or two, I’d say Serenity from The Music in Me and Bottled Water, and Jacques from Serenity & Captain Jack so far. I couldn’t say why exactly, they just are!
Stay up to date with Serenity and find her book here:
The Fantastical Life of Serenity is available for eReaders here:
Nook:
Smashwords: