Interview with Caitlin Hensley

Posted on August 12, 2013

3


Good evening everyone! Today I have the wonderful pleasure of bringing you my interview with the talented Caitlin Hensley! 😀 I hope you enjoy this young lady’s interview as much as I did!!! (please note this interview was conducted prior to July 26th, so her third book as been released and available for purchase!!)

What are you currently working on?

I’ve got so many WIPs that I’ve lost track of them all, but at the moment, I’m working on a YA fantasy that’s tentatively titled Two for One.

How many books do you have published and what are their titles?

I’ve published one full-length novel (Paranormal Legacy) and one novelette (Together Alone), and my second novel, Untold Promise, will be released July 26.

What inspired you to write your first book?

Just a love of writing, really. Paranormal Legacy was my first “real” book (in other words, the first thing I wrote that wasn’t just a few pages long with lots of drawings), and for seven years, I rewrote it and rewrote it until I finally deemed it suitable for others to read.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?

I used to write only in past tense, but last year I developed a love for present tense, and ever since then, that’s the tense I’ve used to tell my stories.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Not really. Just about everything I write comes directly from my imagination.

What book are you reading now?

I’m currently reading “The Debt Collector” by Susan Kaye Quinn. It’s fantastic!

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?

Definitely a career. Being an author is the job I’ve always wanted to have, and so I treat it like one. That helps me get a lot more done than if I just let myself write whenever I got the urge.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nothing that I can think of. I’ve edited Untold Promise so many times that I can quote most of it from memory, so just about everything that needed to be changed has been changed.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Ever since I was a little kid, I’ve loved to write. I was always scribbling and drawing on scraps of notebook paper, and my grandma liked to tell people when I was only five years old that I would grow up to write books.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Okay, sure. Here’s an excerpt from chapter 18 of Untold Promise:

Luke, seated behind his desk, glances up at my dramatic entrance. “Yes, I thought I heard you come in,” he says, calmly setting aside a book. “So you’ve discovered our reasons for hiding in Wolfwood. I suppose you have many questions that you wish to demand answers to—”

“I think I’m being stalked by ghosts,” I blurt.

He stops talking to stare at me. “Ghosts, you say? Er, I hate to ask, but have you by any chance been smoking a suspicious substance?”

“I’ve been seeing them for days. They’re everywhere.” I collapse into one of the chairs before his desk, brushing at the sweaty hair plastered to my forehead. “Well, not everywhere. So far I’ve mostly seen them at the Pink Pastry.”

“Ghosts?” he says. “Really?”

“A herd of them attacked me just now, chanting about death and danger. And they did something to me, made me see something.”

He leans forward in his chair, forming a temple with his hands. “Do go on.”

“I saw people dying. There were at least twenty of them, maybe more. I saw how all of them died.”

“Hm. How odd.”

I want to throw a book at his head. He should be more concerned about all this. It can’t be every day that someone tells him they might be seeing dead people.

“Are ghosts real?” I ask. “I mean, can people really see them?”

“Some witches claim to be necromancers, which are a special type of witch that can see the deceased, but, personally, I’ve never encountered any spirits.”

I slit my eyes. “That’s not very helpful. I thought you were supposed to know everything.”

“I don’t claim to know everything, love,” he says. “Just most of it.”

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Writing endings can be tricky for me at times. The final pages of a book always stick with a reader the most when they finish reading, and so the ending is important to get right. I’m always worried I’m going to make the ending too cheesy, so I really work at it.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have too many favorite authors to name, but one of my newest favorites is Susan Kaye Quinn. Her writing is descriptive, but not overly so, and I love how original and fresh her plots are.

Who designed the covers of you books?

For Paranormal Legacy and Untold Promise, I gave the photo to Marcy Rachel Designs, and they added the text. So it was a joint effort, really. 🙂 For Together Alone, I designed the entire cover myself.

What was the hardest part of writing any of your works?

Until about a year ago, I had the hardest time deleting unnecessary bits from my books. I told myself that even if they didn’t advance the plot or characters, they were funny, or descriptive, or just sounded good. But then something finally clicked in my head, and I was able to start cutting out pointless paragraphs and scenes, which I’m glad about. My books are much better without those extra scenes cluttering them up.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

No matter what, keep writing. I just surfaced from a terrible case of writer’s block that had me thinking I’d never be able to write again, but then I typed out over 6,000 words yesterday. Even if you think your writing is awful, and that no one will ever want to read it, just keep on typing.

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?

Hm, that’s a tough one. I think I have to say Jake West from Paranormal Legacy and Untold Promise. He’s a hawk shifter, and often banters with the other characters, which is a lot of fun to write. There are also lots of emotional scars hidden under his sarcasm, and I love writing about characters who have many layers to their personalities.

Stay connected with Caitlin’s awesome literary journey!! 😀