Interview with Lisa N. Paul

Posted on July 31, 2013

0


Hi again! Tonight, I am so pleased to have an interview with Lisa N. Paul.  I really hope all of you enjoy her awesome interview as much as I did!! 🙂

Lisa Paul

Do you write under any other names? No – I figure, if I’m going to write the story, I would like to take the credit, be it good …or bad.

What are you currently working on? I‘m currently working on Storm Front (book 2 in the Charistown series)

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles? I’ve published 1 book so far – Thursday Nights (book 1 in the Charistown series)

Thursday Nights  (Charistown, #1)

What inspired you to write your first book? I have a friend who suffered a pretty devastating loss last year. I promised her that I would take her out every Thursday night for fun and laughs for the rest of her life.  During those outings, fun things happened…let’s just say, the rest is history.  (But…I am NOT saying that the story is based on fact, other than the nights we go out and some of the people we have met 😉 )

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer? I prefer to write in multiple 3rd person pov

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)? Obviously, the first one I explained…the second one, just kind of came to me..as did the third one (which I have not yet released)…but the 4th and final one in the series…is just…stumping me.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp? Yes, I want my readers to know that life is hard, really fucking hard! And sometimes the family we are born into isn’t the family that makes us feel loved and whole, but that doesn’t mean we are stuck with only those people.  We, if we choose to be brave, can find family of our heart. And those are the people who help us get through the hard times in life. Those are the true family.

How much of the book is realistic/true? I poured my feelings, my heart, and my humor into Thursday Nights. Everything else is fiction.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life? Yes, I think most writers draw from certain life experience when they write, I am not an exception.

What books have most influenced your life most? I am a reading junkie!  So many authors have inspired me…but to name a few, Lori Foster, Kristen Ashley, Mari Carr, Darynda Jones, J.R Ward, Lexi Blake – different types of writing..offer different types of inspiration.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”? I couldn’t choose…so I won’t…(sorry, I just…can’t)

What book are you reading now? Right now, I am reading, “Their Virgin Hostage” by Lexi Blake and Shayla Blake…sexy manege book!!

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. My writers groups. I would NEVER have made it without them!! They have been my oxygen!

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby? I now see it as a career…I just hope that one day, it chooses me as a career too! Heehee

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? Nope, I’m really happy with the way it turned out.
Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? I have always loved writing…and reading books..for as far back as I can remember. My grandmother was a writer. So no, I don’t remember when it started.

Can you share a little of your current work with us? As I stated earlier..I think…I am currently working on Storm Front

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Umm…Yeah…THE WHOLE PROCESS!!! Hahahaha

Who designed the covers of you books? Sarah Hansen at Okay designs

Do you have any advice for other writers? I guess, just listen to your gut…and after you write, step back and try to look at your story like a reader not the author.  As the writer, it’s easy to forget that readers are NOT in our mind..so they can’t tell what we were think when we wrote a scene…details are super important.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!  I don’t know what else to say, but with you their would be none of this. I truly feel blessed that people not only want to read my words, but that they are invested in reading the next book.  It’s unbelievable to me…

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to to life? I have a hard time sitting down and JUST WRITING!  I will find 10,000 other things to do besides writing my story…i.e, this interview *wink*

What character from your writing is your favorite and why? I love all of my female characters.  They are strong, intelligent, funny women!  I wanna be their friend!

Connect with Lisa:

www.Lisanpaul.com  /  www.Lisasreads.com  / https://www.facebook.com/LisaNPaul3