Interview with Jennifer Sivec

Posted on July 24, 2013

1


Please meet the wonderful and beautiful Jennifer Sivec! She shares some of her fantastic writing with us so please enjoy it and be sure to add her book to your TBR list!!! 😀

Do you write under any other names? No
What are you currently working on?  I am currently working on the part 2 to the “Eva Series”.  I recently released part 1 “Leaving Eva” in April. 
How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?  I self published my first novel, “Leaving Eva” in April. 
Leaving Eva
What inspired you to write your first book?  I’ve been writing all of my life.  I’ve always dreamed of writing a book, but have never had the discipline to see it through to the end.  I finally just made the commitment that I was going to write a complete novel and then painstakingly saw it through to the end.
Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?  I like writing in 3rd person and from multiple perspectives.  I like the freedom that it gives to tell a complete story, but the challenge is to not become too redundant or lose the message of the book.
How did you come up with the title of your book(s)  I came up with the title because the theme of the  book is about how the most important people in her life abandon the Main Character, Eva/Brynn. 
Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?  Ultimately the story is about Love and Loss, and how strong the human spirit can be. 
How much of the book is realistic/true?  The Main Character, Brynn is abandoned at about age 3.  I was also abandoned and adopted.  The book was borne from my abandonment, but then the book took on a life of its own and became something else entirely. 
Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life?  The basis of abandonment and adoption are from my own life.  But the rest is purely fiction. 
What books have most influenced your life most?  I love classics like Little Women, East of Eden.  I’ve read more books than I can even remember.  I love the Sheldon Vanauken book “A Severe Mercy” which is also a book about deep love, loss, and the struggle with God and one’s own nature.   C.S. Lewis is another author that has always spoken to me.  “Alice in Wonderland” by Lewis Carroll is one of my absolute favorites. 
If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”?  I’ve been fortunate to have met some fantastic authors through my experience of self-publishing.  I am amazed at how open and encouraging the writing community.   My sister in law is a writer and has been a wonderful resource and extremely encouraging.  My English Teacher in high school always encouraged creativity and freedom of expression, which I found to be very challenging. 
What book are you reading now?  “The Host” by Stephenie Meyer
Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.  I have a group of longtime friends, some of whom I have known since childhood, who was extremely encouraging and supportive.  They read some of my earlier chapters and gave helpful feedback. 
Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?  Isn’t it everyone’s dream to make a career out of it?  J  I’m fortunate that I have a career and get to work with very talented people that I love.  But If I could write full time, I wouldn’t say “no”. 
If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?  No.  I would have edited it better, but otherwise, I wouldn’t change anything. 
Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?  I’ve always loved writing.  I think the first official story I wrote was in the fourth grade with a girl named Lisa Guddy.  It was a terrible story laced with every profane word we could think of.  We scrapped it but unfortunately our teacher found it.  Needless to say, our parents didn’t like the story much either.  That’s the first time I remember ever writing a complete story.  But writing has always been a part of me for as long as I can remember.  I’ve always loved telling stories. 
Can you share a little of your current work with us?
Brynn sat back in her lounge chair with a book, looking forward to getting lost in it for a few hours.  She hadn’t been able to enjoy the simplicity and beauty of their large back yard for a long time.  It was one of the things about the house that she loved the most, but with her and Adam’s separation, Rose’s death, and her own acclimation back into normal life, it had been a busy year.  Life had become simpler now that Adam was home, and Brynn was finally able to rest her mind and body more peacefully.  
 
These days she needed it.  Her doctor wanted her to take it easy and she was trying.   
 
She sat back and nestled deep into the Adirondack chairs made comfortable with the soft cushions and closed her eyes.   
 
Suddenly, she felt the hairs on the back of her neck stand on end.  Someone was there in the back yard watching her.  Somehow she knew that it was Him.  She looked around frantically trying to find him.  How did he find me?  How does he know where I am?  She felt completely naked and exposed in the spaciousness of the grass and the trees. 
 
Maxie, their 80 pound pet lab lifted his head up and looked around.  He seemed to sense something too, almost as though he could smell Him in the air.  He let out a few loud barks as a warning as he lay loyally next to Brynn. 
 
Thomas was close and he was watching her.  Brynn knew it.  She felt the saliva building in the back of her throat, nearly choking her.  It was a familiar feeling, one that she hadn’t felt for a long time.  How can this be?  How can he be here?  He’s dead, gone for almost two decades.  How can he be here now?
 
Brynn frantically gathered her things and turned to go into the house.   Suddenly he was there, standing in front of her, towering like he did was she was young.
 
Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?  I am challenged with time constraints.  Between family and work, life is full.   It can be challenging to find time to write. 
Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  I love C.S. Lewis.  His writing was always very honest.  I love the Narnia Chronicles and thought the stories were so beautiful. 
Who designed the covers of you books?  I did my first cover, but have a wonderful graphic designer for my second. 
What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works?  I think the most difficult part is writing the emotional chapters.  I think it writing with honesty and not worrying about what people will think, but writing for you. 
Do you have any advice for other writers?  Begin!  Don’t worry whether it will be good or bad.  Just write. 
Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?  Thank you!  Thank you!  Thank you!  I am humbled and appreciative of anyone who takes the time to read my work.  I am always so nervous that they won’t find it worthwhile, but I am so thankful for the time that they give me. 
What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to to life?  The challenge is just in putting it all together and trying to tell a good story that makes sense.  That requires some organization and discipline, but it’s part of the fun of telling the story. 

What character from your writing is your favorite and why?  So far it’s Brynn, the main character from “Leaving Eva.”  She’s complex and sad and broken.  I love her so much. 

Connect and keep up to date with Jennifer:

Blog:  http://jennifersivec.wordpress.com/

 Author Profile Amazon.com:  https://authorcentral.amazon.com/gp/profile