Interview with K. Pinson

Posted on July 22, 2013

6


K. Pinson is an author that I really look up to! This young lady is amazingly talented and in her interview, shares some amazingly valuable advice that I think is very important for all writers (at any stage of the game) to check out! I just recently had the pleasure of reading her book In Spades and loved it!! Enjoy her amazing interview everyone along with some amazing teasers from her upcoming endeavors! 🙂

  kp
Do you write under any other names? Hmmm wouldn’t you like to know 😛 Not currently..but I am in the process of writing one under a different name..however  I won’t reveal it…:p I’m just going to let the cards fall where they may.

What are you currently working on? Oh man…I am currently working on House of Cards which is the sequel to In Spades…I am working on Between the Raindrops which is a stand-a-lone…and I am working on Queen of Hearts…which is Faith’s book (she’s a character from In Spades.) Anddd I am working on my secret project.
How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles? I have currently only published one book….with one due out in August..my book is titled In Spades.

What inspired you to write your first book? My love for reading. My excitement over a friend that was in one of my book clubs writing her first book and it blowing up sky high. I wanted to make people happy like she did. I want to inspire others.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer? hmm. Not one that i’ve finely tuned yet. I am still coming into my own and I am an open book lol.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)? In Spades was created by my ex actually. We were discussing cool band names…and he randomly mentioned that…so it was just going to be Daxton’s band name and nothing more and it ended up evolving.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp? Several. But most importantly…love yourself, for who you are. Nobody is going to do it for you. You are ultimately number one and it’s not selfish to be that way. You can love others harder and stronger when you have love for yourself. Also..don’t put up with bullshit. Don’t put up with abuse. I don’t care who you are or where you are…you don’t deserve it!

How much of the book is realistic/true? I’d say about 2/3’s of it are evolved from real happenings and realistic individuals in my life. Especially the personalities..The story lines are a lot more dramatized though lol.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life? Both. Some of the characters are from people I know..but the main story line is based on my own life.

What books have most influenced your life most? The giver, farenheit 451…I love the hunger games. My sisters keeper. Anything with a heart and soul. More recently..the sea of tranquility, taking chances…I love indie books.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”? Hands down K.A. Robinson. I love that girl to bits and pieces and she helps every step along the way.

What book are you reading now? I am not currently reading one..I really need to be writing and reach my deadline for my second novel…but This Man Confessed just appeared on my Kindle and it is taunting me. LOL

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. Again..K.A. Robinson. She pushed me and continues to push me every day.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby? That’s hard to say. As much as I would LOVE for it to be a career…I don’t think I could ever settle down and do just one thing for the rest of my life. I love it..and I write for the readers…and for myself. so right now, more of a Hobby. Who knows what the future holds.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? Getting it edited before I put out the first draft..lol A lot of negativity came from not doing that. (warranted negativity.) lol but the book itself, the story-line, the characters—absolutely not.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? We got asked to write a story for our school newspaper when we were in middle school…and it pertained to D.A.R.E. and I won an award for mine and was really doted on about my writing ability. Ever since then I’ve been writing here and there. But never thought i’d actually write a full book. I’ve always been more of a reader.

Can you share a little of your current work with us? Sure! 🙂 ..I am still keeping Queen of Hearts under wraps as I’m not sure if I’ll release Faith’s story or not.

kpt4

kpt3

kpt1

kpt2

 
Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Male POV! lol Oh boy..Daxton is a hard nut to crack..he gets under my skin at times.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? Oh man…I don’t think I can choose just one. I know..I’m taking the easy way out here. But honestly, I have a honest to God respect for ANYONE that puts their heart and soul out there for all to see.

Who designed the covers of you books? MGbookcovers—Melissa. She ROCKS! See her web page! 🙂 http://salon.io/mgbookcovers

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works? either the male POV or the sex scenes…lol…I am still a dork at heart. I turned bright red when my little sister read em..lmao.

Do you have any advice for other writers? Keep doing you! Make friends in the book community..bloggers, authors, cover artists a like…we all serve a purpose. Without our little community, we would crumble. Take constructive criticism and better yourself. Try not to get down about it, even though I know that’s not easy to do. Write what your heart is telling you to write.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? I L.O.V.E. ya’ll hard….you make me happy in the pants ❤ Thank you for all your support..you are the ones that encourage me to get behind the computer and write every single day.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to to life? I work…a LOT….and it was hard just to find time and still is, to sit down and write. Psychologically…it rehashed a lot of things that I have been suppressing over the years. I am glad to have finally got them out and will continue to do so.

What character from your writing is your favorite and why? hmm. I have a soft spot for Daxton. He just makes me happy. LOL. I’m pretty sure i’m in love with my own fictional character….:/ I love to hate Avalynn…she is the most like me.

 

Keep following along and K. Pinson’s amazing journey!!

https://www.facebook.com/pages/KPinson/548199141880189

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6975423.K_Pinson

http://www.amazon.com/K.-Pinson/e/B00CLY2K7O/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1