Interview with Michele Fisher

Posted on July 17, 2013

2


Michele is a very inspiring young author who is working on her debut into the writing world! Her interview was so awesome for me and I really admire her and learned a lot! Enjoy everyone!! 🙂

1001484_608877939143143_407012037_n

Do you write under any other names? No

What are you currently working on? I am currently working on my first book called A Fighting Chance.  It is a contemporary romance that I hope to have self published this winter.  I am also working on a paranormal romance called Fanged, that I write and post to my facebook page as I go.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles? As of right now I have no books published.  I will be publishing my first book on my own.

What inspired you to write your first book? I’ve always had a big imagination.  I really can’t quite remember how I came up with the story of Chance and Blair for my book A Fighting Chance, but once the characters were in my head, I started writing the story.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer? For both A Fighting Chance, and Fanged, I write from a first person’s point of view, however I have started working on another paranormal romance where it is written in third person.  It’s in it’s infancy right now.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)? In a Fighting Chance, one of the main characters is name Chance, and he is an ex-boxer.  There are a ton of barriers that come between Blair and Chance in the story, and they literally have to fight for one another, so I thought the title seemed fitting.  For Fanged, the title just kinda popped in my head and I liked it.  I named the club the vampires go to in the book, Fanged.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp? I really didn’t put any kind of message in my stories, other than the struggles and the stories of my characters.  If someone reads it and is purely entertained, or if they relate to a character and it touches something deeper in them, then I think that is awesome.  I love how reading a book can awaken things in us that we didn’t know were there.

How much of the book is realistic/true? My books are completely fiction.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life? The events in my book aren’t drawn from any real experiences I’ve had, but I do draw inspiration for my characters from real people, whether I know them or not.  I may know them, or I may have just seen a photo of them and let my imagination decide you they are.

What books have most influenced your life most? I have so many favorite books, but the one that I have a soft spot for is Anne Of Green Gables.  I always felt a connection with Anne.  She and I are both redheads, we both always seem to have our head in the clouds, and we both have big imaginations. 

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”? Even though i’ve only known her a few months, I consider Stefanie Pratt a big mentor to me.  She is also a writer (go check her out on facebook under S.H. Pratt) and she has helped me out and supported me so much.  She’s awesome.

What book are you reading now?  I am currently reading Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.  I consider all the writers and readers that I have met through social media to be my biggest support.  They are wonderful and so encouraging.  There is such a great group of authors in the indie-community that are more than willing to help and support you with anything.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby? I see writing as a hobby and hopefully a career. I love it so much, and I can’t see myself doing anything else.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? I have made so many revisions to my book it’s not funny, but as of right now, I am very happy with where the story is at.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? I’ve always loved to write, but I really started to get serious about creative writing when I quit my job to stay home with my children.  I tried to go back to school for creative writing and screenplay writing, but I couldn’t afford the tuition.  When I withdrew from the school, I decided I was going to write anyways, and I did.

Can you share a little of your current work with us? My first book is a romance called A Fighting Chance.  The story revolves around our main character, Blair Peters, who is struggling after her fiancé leaves her for another woman.  Trying to pick up the pieces, she has a run in with Chance Wiseman, the boxing coach at her new gym.  There is instant attraction but there are a lot of skeletons in his closet.  If Blair has any chance at happiness she must decide whether she wants to give-up on love or fight for it.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? One of the most challenging thing with writing is doing editing and revisions to your stories.  I may write a chapter one night, then hate it the next morning and re-write it.  Writers block is also terrible and I seem to get it whenever I sit to write.  It’s when I’m doing something random that a story or an event plays in my mind.  I have to grab a paper and pen, and write it down before I forget it.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? I love too many authors to count. I find them and all their stories to be inspiring and entertaining. When I read it really gets the imagination going.

Who designed the covers of you books? I will be working on a cover for my book soon, so stay tuned.

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works? The hardest part about writing my stories were getting the characters from point a to point b.  I may have a vision of something big happening in the story, but it’s writing about how we get to that, that can be a challenge..

Do you have any advice for other writers? The best advice I can give to a fellow writer it so write everyday, listen to lots of music, and try to surround your self with inspiration, whether it’s a hobby you enjoy, or going someplace you love.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? If I could tell my readers anything, it would be a huge THANK YOU!  When I see someone say how much they love something that I wrote, they have no clue what that does to me.  It drives me more than anything to be the best writer I can be.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to to life? My biggest challenge was myself. My brain seems to want to do it’s own thing when I am trying to create a story line. I’ve learned to just be patient with my brain and fuel it with plenty of coffee.

What character from your writing is your favorite and why? My favorite character would have to be Blair from A Fighting Chance because she was the first character I penned down on paper.

Find more about Michele here:

Facebook-https://facebook.com/AuthorMicheleFisher

Goodreads-http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/16283297-michele