Interview with Robert Davis, Author and Miscreant extraordinaire.

Posted on July 10, 2013

5


I have had the pleasure of getting to know Robert through this very interesting and entertaining interview! I hope that you all enjoy his twisted sense of humor as much as I did!!! I have to say this was truly a fun one for me! 🙂

Snapshot_20130515

Do you write under any other names? No – But as many Robert Davis’ are are out I probably should, sadly Joe Kickazz is hard to remember so will have to stay with my real name.

What are you currently working on? I just published my first Novella ‘Rakasha: Legend of the Hindi Tiger Demon’  and I have about 12 more short stories, and 3 novels all in the works (as in ready to have ‘something’ done with them,  I am working on the fourth novel at the moment.

How many (if any) books do you have published and what are their titles?  Only 1 book so far ‘Rakasha: Legend of the Hindi Tiger Demon’ although “Jamie Ryder: Possessed” is hot on its heels with a November release, and ‘Jamie Ryder: Control” maybe February ? maybe  later.  another Creature feature (either Ekmuu or Pengalian) are also coming, and who knows, the Demon hunting Chronicles is in my head and pouring out my fingers daily maybe that will be out next year as well

What inspired you to write your first book? I have always written, always spun a good story, when not playing FRPG, I was writing.  I got an inspired idea one night watching TV, and wrote what I thought would be a short story, but it kept building conflict after conflict – problem after problem.  the characters started to grow organically, their scenarios expanded…. next thing you know I have a full length novel (actually it was more like a TOME – 195K words)  [fear not I am splitting it into separate books, don’t want anyone to strain an arm or pack up their Kindle.]

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer?  I am a free form writer, I have tried to do outlines before, but I never end up following them because when I start writing, something will catch me in a scene, and suddenly I am down that rabbit hole and out the other side off the outline. the Story arc is constant, but the how to get there jumps around

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)? for the Novel Jamie Ryder:XXXXXX  it was simple and lazy – the name Jamie Ryder is not common and won’t hit a thousand links, and the XXXXX being the books mood. first one is Possessed,  second one is Control and third one (working title) is Lost.  for my Creature Features (the short Novella’s I am publishing) those I will simple name the creature on the front, and have the stories in side explain what the creature is, how they work and how to defeat them.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp?  for my Horror piece Rakasha – there is a subtle theme.  the horror in that book is not that the protagonists are eaten alive, but that they want to be eaten.  the violence, the carnage, the damage they do in order to have another being devour them is scary.  The only difference between the Rakasha and drugs, the Rakasha you don’t make the choice to start with. [Kristin, not sure I should put this line in, your thoughts? don’t want my work to sound ‘preachy’]

How much of the book is realistic/true? depends on the angle that you look at it at.  is there really man eating tiger demons that can break your will in a single bite – No, totally unreal. are there things (Drugs, alcohol and such) that can break your will with a single use…. sadly very real [Kristin, this line builds on the one above, kill one kill both! thoughts ? ]

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life? not in my life, not first hand.  but I have worked a variety of professions that let me see it, closer then anyone would ever want to

What books have most influenced your life most? this one is a tough one, I can tell you several scenes and quotes from books and series, but it takes me forever to actually link them back to the source.  My brain is a sponge for information, sadly no index.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”? I think Rachel Meade is one of the influences that I have paid attention to.   I like her stories, but also had a thought about how things should improve. the other one would be Bobbie Kay.  She is a personal friend of mine that wrote a book, and once I saw that I thought, heck I should give it a try.

What book are you reading now? I am an odd man on this one, but when I am writing I avoid (at all costs) reading or even watching TV. I want to be sure I don’t accidentally integrate something from one of those sources into my work. although I am about 1/2 way through Zion Anders (by Katherine Kebler [a very good read by the way]) and have about 18 books qued up and ready to roll! I think that’s why my Kindle is getting heavier, loaded with all those photons and books

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.  Author U.  it’s a group of authors that are lead by Judith Briles.  They have gone over all the details and information about how to publish a book. Self publishing is hard work, but rewarding.  and if your like me, writing on the fringes it maybe the best option for you. My inspiration above, Bobbie Kay almost lost her work to a publishing predator! Author U helped me not fall into that trap.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby?  I hope its going to become my Career – it’s a tough business to break into, its hard to get notices and while my readers have all universally praised my writing style (even those that didn’t enjoy the story – Horror isn’t for everyone).  Several of them have said I have ‘IT’ so that means I have a chance, but in the end being an author is more then writing, its self promoting, its interacting with people, its becoming a social master while also trying to stay true to being a writer.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? Other then the entire publishing process ? or the release date ?  The book it self I am very happy with, its tight, written well and a good read. the creation process….  I will have to acknowledge that there were a couple of factors that hurt production, not the quality of the book, but the damage done to some personal relationships.  I had no Money and I had no time.  I wanted to release it before my mom had surgery.  Surgery at 75 is never a good thing, and she is really rolling the dice, 50/50  it was important that before that happened, she had a copy of the book to hold and see and know that I was able to get published.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?   I have always told stories, from when I was very young.  I have probably written at least 200 stories and novels, but only very recently have I started to try to ‘do something’ with them.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?  I am back on the Jamie Ryder Series. The story and all the conflict that  come from a Male Demon being trapped in a deaf female college student have been a gold mine. as always  I try to show a slice of life, or my perceptions of it in my writing.  while this book none of the experiences are mine, there have been plenty of people that have contributed to this process.  The first book (coming in November) sets up the rest of the books. I have the first chapter available on my Author Facebook page, and on my writing blog as well.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? The hardest thing to do is to write when it feels like no one cares.  I am blessed, one of my early beta readers turned UBerfan she loves my work, and helps me promote it. as long as I have that I can keep putting out  stories.  who knows, maybe after Rakasha I will have more fans.  when people tell you “enjoy reading X”  it’s a motivation.  I’m not writing to be rich (although I would accept monies if they come) I am writing to be read.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Who designed the covers of you books?  Rakasha cover was designed by Katherine Kebler with art work for Lunasea at Deviant art.com  both of them have my gratitude.  for the money I spent (next to nothing) the cover was all I hoped it would be.   for the Novel in November Jamie Ryder: Possessed they will once again get the tap.

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works? silencing the internal editorOne of the Rakasha stories I looked over after I finished it, and thought “can I really write that? will people accept that?”  I went ahead and put it out, with a warning.  I will find out how people react to it soon (if I have not already)

Do you have any advice for other writers? there is a reason there are different words for Writers and Authors.  Writers write,  Authors produce books.  if you have you dream on getting a major publisher to take your first novel and turn it into an instant best seller, you need to look at the business again. just like if you think that all you need do is put it on KDP & Createspace and it will magically start selling. again look at the business.  I find that I need to separate my tasks, that I have to say “from X to Z I am going to write” then do all the rest of the ‘stuff’ that we need to do.  in my dreams someday I will just write, and the rest will be handled for me, but that’s the future! for now….

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? Feedback is everything – as are reviews.  if you didn’t like something, tell the author but if the thing you didn’t enjoy was something like the Genre before you 1 start the book and kill sales and start the push off of Amazon, ask your self why did you read it – if the author promised you a paranormal adventure and it turned out to be Demon Erotica – then 1 star away.  if the author said the stories were gross, gory, with drug and sexual references, mature situations and immature humor.  your not liking it is more YOU then the book.  (BTW – that is the actual warning I have on my book, Rakasha)

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to to life? I have no clue at time about what readers will let me write.  in my first book, there are some ‘uncomfortable’ scenes.  I put it in front of five beta readers, and four of them were ok with it, (the fifth turned out to be a fruit loop).  I write the stories true to them selves, and hope the readers will allow for that. (Hence my reference to ‘Writing on the Fringes’ above)   after all you cant have a burly biker wander in with a bullet in his arm and say “shucks”

What character from your writing is your favorite and why? I love my charicter Ivan the Demon. He is fun because to do his dialog, to do his motivations and to know him all I need to do is turn off every filter I have, on all levels, and let him loose. I would channel him in my daily life, but Jail and harassment suits would be the only possible outcome. Actually I enjoy him so much, his name appears in a lot of my works even Rakasha, there is a reference to how the Rakasha (while leading her victim outside comments “this man’s anticipation was palpable – if Ivan the Demon were here, he would feast like a king”

Robert’s Websites and ways to say up to date with his world! Even a link to his works on Amazon!!! 🙂

https://www.facebook.com/#!/RobertDavisAuthor (my Facebook author page – I am much better behaved there) 

http://robertdavisauthor.com/  my author page.

http://wp.me/3a6cK My writers blog

http://rbdavis5.wordpress.com/ my ‘funny’ blog – warning, humor is not for everyone – just saying.

Twitter = @robertbdavis3

Amazon Author Page – http://www.amazon.com/Robert-Davis/e/B00DQ3GGZQ/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1