Interview with Christy Dilg

Posted on July 8, 2013

2


I would like to introduce you to this lovely and talented young author: Christy! I highly encourage everyone to follow Christy’s sites: twitter: fancygrey, instagram: fancy_grey, www.facebook.com/AuthorChristyADilg

christy dilg

Do you write under any other names? This is the only name I write under

What are you currently working on? My first romance novel, Forbidden Forever

When is the title and release date of you debut novel? The title has been released and I am hoping to have the release date for late August, early September.

What inspired you to write your first book? Two things. My love for Fifty shades of grey and a awesome book club “smibookclub” that kept giving me more reasons to read.

Do you have a specific writing style or one that you prefer? I just write as the words come out. I’m not sure what style of writing that would be.

How did you come up with the title of your book(s)? The story is about a affair so forbidden seemed to be the perfect word and I chose Forever because in the end forbidden becomes the forever love.

Is there a message in your writing that you want readers to grasp? To know that you should love yourself for everything you are no matter what anyone thinks or says. You are beautiful in your own way. There will always be someone out there that wants to down you but it is you that has to believe you are more.

Are the experiences in your writing based on someone you know, or events in your own life? I was reading all the books and all the women were perfect even when they were described as plain. No matter the description they were still strikingly beautiful in size. I thought it was time for a story that was about what most people would consider not so perfect. The average size, average woman getting the perfect man.

What books have most influenced your life most? Fifty Shades of Grey and Thoughtless

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a “mentor”? S.C. Stephens her story touched my heart.

What book are you reading now? Trophy husband

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. My book club members. Smi book club has given me such great support and I love all the ladies on there. They changed my life and my love of books.

Do you see writing as a career or a hobby? I would love to see it as a career. We will see how this book goes.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? No. I just turned in the first half to my editor and when I read through it I loved it and can’t wait to see what I write next. The characters are so passionate and the relationships are real.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? My interest happened years ago when I was about 16. I always knew I would write a book, I just thought it would be more of a horror story. Who would have known I would have fell in love with LOVE so much.

Can you share a little of your current work with us? Affairs. I thought they were suppose to be exciting from all the books I read and instead I feel like I killed someone. Me. What will it be like when I see him tomorrow at work? Questions feel me up like a cup of overflowing tainted water. Sleep I need sleep.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Finding the perfect words to match what is in my head. The vision is so much easier than the words.

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? E.L. James, the way she got me to vision myself in the red room or in a car chase. I literally felt like I was Ana. That is amazing writing no matter what people say.

Who designed the cover(s) of you book(s)? Yikes, I have no got this far yet. My photographer is Amy Haring and she will be creating 2 covers for me. I am still looking for my male model.

What was the hardest part of writing your any of your works? The time. I am a wife, mother, full time worker that has little time on her hands to write.

Do you have any advice for other writers? Do it. No matter how much time it is, write.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? Mainly, thank you. The support I have received for a book that is still in the works is amazing. There are no words for the love I feel for each and every like I have received and comment of excitement to read my words and hopefully love my characters as I do.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing your stories to life? Definitely research. I chose a location close by so I can try and make the book as real as possible. I want people to be able to relate as much as they can to a fantasy.

What character from your writing is your favorite and why? Sierra. She is so full of life and honest. I love that she is who she is and doesn’t need approval from anyone.

What is your favorite thing about writing? Living in a fantasy. Writing and reading are two of the same. Leave the stressful work life behind and cozy up to the fantasy life.