How Writing Saved Me

Posted on April 1, 2013

12


There are a lot of things from my life that I have pushed out of my consciousness. Mostly terrifying memories of the deep depression that I would fall into during my teen years. I had a multitude of problems dealing with my emotions in a healthy way. The outlets I would find were bottling up my feelings, cutting (or burning) myself, or writing. Thinking back on those dark moments in my past, I find it difficult to remember how bad it really was. I feel like this was just another coping mechanism that my mind has developed. Instead of allowing the pain I was feeling to become physical, I would write poetry or journal entries. These outlets allowed me to push out all of the negative energy from my body so I would not have to feel these horrible emotions. {continued…}

Posted in: My Articles