One of My Life’s Defining Moments

Posted on March 13, 2013

8


My beautiful cousin, Marcie.

A defining moment is described as: a point at which the essential nature or character of a person, group, etc., is revealed or identified. As we all stumble along through life, from time to time we come across a situation that changes us for good or bad. Thinking back there are a horde of defining moments that come to mind: my adoption, my first kiss, learning to drive, moving into my first college dorm. They all resonate in me and have helped mold me into who I am. There are a few moments that have become beautiful memories bread from sadness and heartbreak. I am thankful for the lessons and humility they have given me and I thank the ones that were a part of them with all of my heart.

July 6, 2002 was a day that was not only a defining moment for me, but for my entire family. My cousin Marcie Mazzola was in a car accident and passed away early that morning. She was a beautiful person inside and out and her loss has transformed the core of all that she touched forever. Marcie was only twenty-one when she turned into an angel, but she still touches the lives of so many every day. With her passing, I learned so much about life and my family. Marcie, I wish every day that you were still here to share in all of the amazing things that our family has accomplished and I thank you for being the guardian angel through all of them, knowing that you are looking down on us, helping us along our individual paths. {continued…}

Posted in: My Articles