Just another day out on the water

Posted on March 7, 2013

2


Michael and I right after putting the Shipoke in the water.

Michael and I right after putting the Shipoke in the water.

Growing up in Florida has given me a great appreciation for the ocean. I really do think that salt water is pumping through my veins. This weekend nine of us went down to the Florida Keys. Michael, my boyfriend, has been redoing a flats boat with his brother Chris (owner of Mobile Marine Services of America) for a while now. This weekend was its début in the water and Michael was like a little kid on Christmas morning.

Mike’s best friend, Chase, goes to Mass Maritime and was visiting this past week (the reason we decided to venture down to the keys this particular weekend). For Florida, it was extremely cold, getting down into the 40s at night and hovering in the mid-60s during the day. I know that with all of the snow the rest of the country has been getting, this sounds like a dream, but for us Floridians, we were freezing. Nevertheless, we put on our jeans and sweatshirts and decided to brave the cold on the boats. {continued…}

Posted in: My Articles